I Have Company Coming and Apple Cake

I have company coming! Not just any company but a friend of mine I’ve known for at least 4 years(if not longer) online, but have never met in real life. She’s one of the sweetest ladies I’ve known and has always had an encouraging word to say or just a hug. A lot of my friends in the computer often tell me I should move to where they live it’s a running joke between all of us. Well now that I’m back in WA, many of my friends live here. Today…I get to meet one of them! I NEED to make a coffee cake of some sort. It’s in the 1950’s guide to being a good hostess…I must make coffee cake!(ok not sure if such book exists but it sounds like the hostessy thing to do)

My friend and I share a very big common bond that with her permission I will blog about in a couple of days. It touches both of our hearts greatly.I promise to take lots of pics of her visit.Thats what you all wanna see right two crazy ladies. Yes? See I knew it! Cut me some slack I’m a little loopy this morning,not much sleep,I HAVE COMPANY COMING!!!

***Note to self after this post get up and step away from the computer and get a life :)***

So yesterday I teased some of my friends on facebook that I was gonna bake something scrumptious. I did indeed. Sadly none is left for company. That’s what living in a house with 4 little trolls will do. You bake something and it’s gone in half an hour. I even had help making the apple cake yesterday meet my Sous Chef:

Blurry…yes. If you could’ve seen her chopping apples you’d understand why. She was chopping like a Ginsu Knife master. Ok maybe not but she was using the big people knives and she did excellent. I had some apples I needed to use and being back in WA figured uhhh duh it’s apple cake time. I baked it in a bunt pan this time but I think next time I will bake it in a regular pan,like usual.` I just like bunt pans they look so um grown up.See I can fake it I AM a grown up.

Wendy’s Apple Cake (adapted and changed a WHOLE bunch from the Better Homes and Garden Cookbook)

2 beaten eggs

3 c flour

couple drops of lemon juice

1tsp each of baking soda baking powder and cinnamon

1/2 tsp of nutmeg

1/4 tsp of salt

1 c sugar

1c brown sugar

1c sour cream

1Tblspoon of vanilla

3 cups chopped and peeled apples

1c applesauce

Now of course the tedious part is the peeling and chopping of apples. So grab your closest kid to help you with this. I SUCK at peeling things. So that alone took me awhile. Having one of the kids next to me chopping and talking pretty much made the job easier.

Mix your dry ingredients in a medium bowl

In a larger bowl mix your wet ingredients except for the applesauce. When the wet ingredients are beaten together nicely pour in the dry ingredients and mix some more. Then pour in your applesauce. Lastly fold in the apples.

Pour batter into a bunt pan or cake pan or heck even muffin tins. Come to think of it these would make scrumptious muffins. Bake on 350 for about 50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on wire rack. Keep household trolls from attacking the aromatic cake until it is fully cooled.

Of course you can always distract the trolls by throwing the batter bowl at them. This will keep them complacent for a bit.

The apple cake turned out beautiful. Now some people might want to make up a caramel sauce to go on it or dust it with powdered sugar. I left it plain for the night. It’s still just as good that way and with less sugar

See all the flecks of apple? Such an easy cake to make.

Well I’m off to find my best coffee cake recipe or maybe I’ll make blueberry oat bars. I need to hang the last of my pictures before she arrives and umm maybe clean up a bit. My living room is almost finished.

Oh one more thing. I had over 130 readers on my blog yesterday. That is AWESOME! I feel so loved. Can ya’ll do me a favor please? If you stop by just leave a quick comment. I would love to know who’s reading. The comment button is on the bottom left of each post. Even if it’s just to say hi I’d love to hear from you!

Alright I’m off to bake and clean…and shower. Yes I’m sure my friend would appreciate me showering.

 

 

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on July 23, 2011, in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That Apple cake looks scrumptious!

  2. Since my life is usually “DULL”, I live vicariously through other people’s blogs. I love to hear about the kids.

  3. I am here. I check in every day to see what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

