Let’s Get Ready To Rumble….Errr Homeschool

I can hardly believe that a week from today we will be starting our new homeschool year.Officially our 7th year of homeschooling which means I will have ….gulp….BIG gulp…a 7th grader a 5th grader a 3rd and a 1st grader. Grades are a funny thing though. Most of my kids read above their grade level(thank God they love to read).A couple of them are higher in math a couple right where they should be. When it comes to science and history well we’re all over the place according to grade level. I put hardly any attention into what “grade” they’re in that sometimes when I’m asked that question I have to stop and think for a moment. Holly will tell you she SHOULD be in third grade because well that’s what her language arts and math workbooks say. I try to explain to her thatĀ  because public schools go by when your birth date is she’d really only be in first grade,but that just doesn’t go over well.

This week the kids will be doing their workbook work. Workbook work consists of their math and language arts.While they’re doing this I’ll be puttingĀ  the finishing touches on the homeschool room.I’ll also be putting together a tentative daily schedule for the last of August,September,and October. I have learned not to plan too far into the school year because well sometimes things just take a total 180.

I lucked out and found a free US history curriculum online! Happy dance!!!Not only is it a history curriculum, but it’s also full of critical thinking and teaches the kids how to determine if what they’re reading is valid or non valid by looking at things such as when it was written,who wrote it,what the person’s stand point is and other great things.I’m excited.No I’m ecstatic!!!Why?because I’m kinda a dork like that…it’s ok I’ve totally made my peace with it. Well sort of. So yes if you wanna check it out for yourself you can here:

http://sheg.stanford.edu/

It’s called,”Reading like a historian” and so far I’m in love.

Along with the history curriculum we’ll be reading books that go along with the time period we’re covering. Since we’re starting with Native Americans we’ll start by reading one of my favorite books ever. The Island of The Blue Dolphins. I love sharing good books with my children and this one I cannot wait to share.

Science we’ll be using Abeka’s Investigating God’s World which I found hiding amongst the school room when I did my cleaning.Who knew?

Art and crafts well umm …see I USED to be crafty!In fact when Nathaniel was born I hand stamped all of his birth announcements. I used to scrapbook in fact Nathaniel has 2 full scrapbooks somewhere around here. I’ve never been able to draw but yeah I used to stamp,scrapbook,decorate the kids’ rooms. This was all before I had kid number 3 of course,then kid number4. Nowadays I’m content to just write and cook and let that part of me hide out in my memories.However I think I may have to dig deep and find it again. You know for the kids’ sake. So if anyone knows of a fun easy craft/art website please share it with me!

We will definitely be doing cooking or baking one time a week.This week the kids and I will compile a list of things they want to learn how to cook or bake and we’ll go from there. We’ll learn how to read recipes and how some oven’s temperatures may be different then others so you always need to check your food!Trust me HUGE lesson there.

Religion I found two great curriculum I had tucked away for later years and had forgotten about.One is learning how to use the bible to find God’s word and truth. The other is learning how to lean on God always. I know this will be great for ALL of us!

I will also be throwing in some myths and fairy tales this year as well. I think we’ll start with some works by Beatrix Potter. I’m also hoping to throw in some poetry studies as well.

Health and sex ed?I think we do a good job on covering that spontaneously. I have a feeling this year will be a big one for my older two in this area so I foresee lots of open conversations.

I have a new excitement about this homeschool year.Not quite sure why. Maybe it’s the fact I have older kids that we can get into some deep discussions on various topics. Maybe because we’ll be covering some of my favorite novels such as Island,The Witch Of Blackbird Pond,My Side of the Mountain,and many others.Maybe it’s the fact that I have a whole room just dedicated to homeschooling. Maybe it’s just the plain simple fact that I’m back home in Washington State and we’ll actually get to watch the leaves change colors this fall! Somehow I think it has to do more with that last reason than anything else.

So here’s to a great school year with lots of learning,fun,and memories to be made!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 15, 2011, in homeschool, Homeschooling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You make homeschooling sound Fun!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

