Cinnamon Rolls and Sleepover Fun

Friday BEFORE, that stupid fluid filled cyst decided to erupt inside of me,the kids and I spent the night with my cousins.

We were going to to head out, watch Mama Mia and then in the morning I was going to make cinnamon rolls for everyone including my other cousin Debbie(Teri’s younger sister) and her boyfriend. Oh and we were going to make Smores in the fireplace.It’s a rule when we come over(or are living there) we make S’mores.

We had such a fun visit! We ended up watching Dumb and Dumber instead of Mama Mia because by the time Teri and I got back from the grocery store we were too tired to stay up till midnight watching it.**Cough Cough**we’re getting old **Cough Cough**It was weird though to sleep in the house that we first lived in for a month when we moved up here. Very very weird.

I woke up the next morning before my alarm went off at 5:30 to get the dough rising. I love making these cinnamon rolls. They’re the closest to the Cinnabon that I’ve tasted. When I lived in Arizona I used to have cinnamon roll Saturdays where I would quadruple the batch and deliver them to friends. Heck even Aunt Teri got one last year at Christmas time flown up to her.

We then watched Mama Mia or at least part of it while the rolls were baking and the rest of breakfast was being made.It was the perfect way to spend a Saturday morning,hanging out with family sharing old stories and catching up on new ones.

Speaking of sharing. I know some of you have been asking for quite awhile for my cinnamon roll recipe.Since I just can’t drive over to most of your houses and spend the night and make rolls in the morning I thought I would finally share my recipe with you.

Be careful though I’ll warn you. Baking these cinnamon rolls is like the gateway drug into baking. Once you make these nummy guys you’ll want to explore the world of baking more and more and more.It can become ugly pretty fast.

So here is my nummy recipe for cinnamon rolls taken from some site a very very long time ago

Cinnamon Rolls (the best eva)

Dough:
2 pkg. active dry yeast
1 C. warm water (105-115 degree)
2/3 C. plus 1 tsp. granulated sugar, divided
1 C. warmed milk
2/3 C. butter
2 tsp salt
2 eggs, slightly beaten
7-8 C. all-purpose flour, or more if needed

Filling:
1 C. melted butter, divided (2 sticks)
1 3/4 C. granulated sugar, divided
3 Tbsp. ground cinnamon
1 1/2 C. chopped walnuts, optional
1 1/2 C. raisins, optional
Creamy glaze:
2/3 C. melted butter (1 stick plus 2 Tbsp.)
4 C. powdered sugar
2 tsp vanilla
4-8 Tbsp. hot water
In a small bowl mix together warm water, yeast and sugar and set aside. In a large bowl, mix milk, remaining 2/3 cup sugar, melted butter, salt and eggs; stir well and add yeast mixture. Add half the flour and beat until smooth. Stir in enough of the remaining flour until dough is slightly stiff (dough will be sticky).

Turn out onto a well-floured board; knead 5 -10 minutes. Place in well-buttered glass or plastic bowl, cover and let rise in warm place, free from drafts, until doubled in bulk, about 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

When doubled, punch down dough and let rest 5 minutes. Roll out on floured surface into a 15 x 20 inch rectangle.

To prepare filling: Spread dough with 1/2 cup melted butter. Mix together 1 1/2 cups sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over buttered dough. Sprinkle with walnuts and raisins, if desired.

Roll up jellyroll-fashion and pinch edge together to seal. Cut into 12 to 15 slices. Coat bottom of a 13-by-9-inch baking pan and a 8-inch square pan with remaining 1/2 cup melted butter, then sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup sugar. Place cinnamon roll slices close together in pans. Let rise in warm place until dough is doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake 25 to 30 minutes, or until rolls are nicely browned. Cool rolls slightly.

To prepare glaze: Meanwhile, in medium bowl, mix melted butter, powdered sugar and vanilla; add hot water 1 Tbsp. at a time until glaze reaches desired spreading consistency. Spread over slightly cooled rolls.

This recipe was adapted by using a recipe that was originally published in the Portland newspaper as their best shot at Cinnabons, I think you will find this pretty darn close. Thanks to Judy Hilman, pointed us in the right direction for this recipe.

The secret I found out with having the best cinnamon rolls is to really estimate about how much flour you’re putting in. Start with the initial amount but then as your adding you really just have to use the “feel” method. The dough is ready when it is still a bit sticky and very stretchy. Yes it’s still gonna stick to your fingers but you’ll live I promise.

I wish I could come to each of your houses and make some for you and we could laugh over cinnamon rolls and lots of coffee but this will just have to do for now. Well unless of course you’re paying traveling expenses.

Make these SOON!!!I always make a double batch because my kids can easily scarf down three and these bad boys get huge!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh, I might just have to drive over to have some. Will bring lattes ;)

  2. Ohhhhhh… I’m drooling on my keyboard as I write this Darling! Now I need to go fix my lipstick… xoxo

  3. I’ve made the Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls before, but these look even better because there’s more butter and no oil. YUM. But you’re right, they’re dangerous. I kind of want to eat them raw.

    • lol they’re really good raw but man if you get the dough the right consistency of stretchy when they bake they bake up SOOOOOO FLUFFY!!!I’ve made PW’s as well but really nothing compares to these!

      Tell ya what when I finally make my trip over there to see the rest of my family I’ll deliver you a batch!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

