How I’m preparing for the upcoming birthday

I actually up early enough for the first time in a couple of weeks to whip out a Monday Listicles! Plus,I’m not grumpy and hey after I get this done I may even whip out a coffee cake for the morning…or I may just sit here and sip my coffee..ehh I’m not gonna push it.

This week’s Listicles topic is brought to you by Robbie

This week it is ALL THINGS BIRTHDAY RELATED.

Seeing as I hit 33 weeks pregnant this week there is only one birthday that is really at the forefront of my mind. The birthday of little Miss Adrienne. Seeing as this is the first time I’ve given birth in 8 years I feel like a first time mommy all over again. I keep thinking of little things I need to get done or take care of before she shows up. People keep telling me…don’t worry you have time. Until I tell them I have 6 other kids,then they understand my need for organization,or they faint in shock.

So here we go:

10 Things I’m preparing for/looking forward to for Miss A’s birthday

1. The emergency contact list for the kiddos…it finally made it up on the fridge this week.Seeing as most of my labor will be done at home we have gone over with the kiddos many many times that if mommy should say you need to call someone start with Brandon and work your way down.Hopefully my parent’s RV will be on the property and I won’t have to worry too much,oh and that Brandon will be home for most of it as well…but we all know how fast labor can change.

2.The SHE”S HERE phone list for Brandon to send out the first text/call. I keep telling him oh you’ll have to call this person…I suppose in this day and age of twitter and facebook I can just announce it there and reach everyone at once,but there are still certain people who deserve the first calls.

3.Registering beforehand for the hospital…just mailed it off yesterday.

4. Packing the hospital bag. I know I know I still have about 7 weeks,but seeing as Ms Holly was 3 weeks early…I get a little nervous.

5.My first all natural birth…I CAN do this I WANT to do this. I couldn’t think of a more supportive partner to have through an all natural birth.The people we have chosen to be with us all love and support us so as long as I don’t go into super freak out mode I should be fine right?RIGHT?!?!

6. Holding this little girl skin to skin after months of feeling her move around inside of me.

7.Seeing what she looks like. Her last ultrasound picture was so clear but nothing beats actually getting to SEE her!

8.Bringing her home to her 6 other siblings and bringing this family closer together.They are all pretty excited to get to meet her.

9.Those first moments of her birthday when it will be just Adrienne,her daddy,and myself. I cannot even tell you how much I am looking forward to this moment.

10. Never sleeping again…ok I’m not looking forward to this but I’m definitely preparing myself for it.I’m already picking out different series on Netflix to help me get through the long night time hours.

So there you have it 10 ways I’m preparing for this upcoming birthday.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Monday Listicles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Yay for natural births. Remember to BREATHE and tell yourself that the labor pains are only temporary. Visualize your cervix dilating. I know that sounds crazy, but it helps. I’ve had all of them without pain meds. You can DOOOOO ITTTTT!

  2. I am so excited to see her!!!

  3. I bet she will be a wonderful sleeper! I am so excited about you having a natural birth. You will rock it!!

  4. How exciting for you. And best of luck with the all natural birth. After mothering six children, you sure have the mental toughness…

  5. This is so sweet! I’m excited for you:)

  6. This is great and reminded me of me. My boys are 7 years apart so I felt like I was a first time Mom both times! But I don’t have as many kids as you. I’m not crazy!

  7. #7 and #8 gave me chills. :) Wishing you the best! Ellen

  8. Oh, and also sew yourself some flannel nursing pads. Use an old flannel nightgown, or baby receiving blanket, or buy a small piece of cute flannel print. I’m using the cute print for the top layer, and then three layers of plain white. I used a 32-oz. drink cup to make the pattern; commercial pads are smaller than that. Pin four layers of flannel circles together, stitch around the edge, and then zigzag stitch the raw edges. When your breasts go off like sprinklers in the early weeks, you’ll be glad for a good supply of these pads!

  9. good for you for being so on top of things – I am super-impressed
    my boys came at 29 and 31 weeks, so I was not prepared in the least, but I also did not have six other children to think about!

  10. Preparing for the little one’s arrival is one of my favorite parts of pregnancy. And you CAN do it! Being prepared is half the battle. I had my last three natural and I wouldn’t change that for anything. I am getting excited for you to meet your little one!

    • So what advice do you have Stacey for making it through a labor med free? I read your post this am but haven’t even had a chance to comment. Hope Ms O has a great B day!!! And call us crazy but we’re already planning the next one

  11. It sounds like you are prepared and organized and so ready for this! And I agree with Robin about having quick easy meals prepared ahead of time so they can be at the ready. From reading along with you over the past year or so, I imagine your kids are pretty competent in the kitchen so they will be great helpers.

    I wish I was closer so I could help out in some way. But I am here cheering you on and eager to read about the arrival of the newest member of Casa de Crazy. :-)

  12. Don’t forget stocking your freezer with ready-to-heat meals. Teach the older kids how to re-heat the meals and take a couple weeks off from cooking. Bags of pancakes, waffles, and muffins that can be re-heated individually are helpful, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

