10 Things My Parents Did Right

It is Monday!!! I know i know hold your groans please,some of happen to like Mondays. Yes I know those of us that do are probably a little twisted.

This week for Listicles we have a great idea shared with all of us. I’ve been thinking about it since I read what it was before bed last night.

Today’s list of ten is: 10 Things My Parents Did Right

Ahem let me back this up by saying I was not always the laid back,calm,cool,collected,person you all read about, while growing up.(You can pick yourself up off the floor now I’ll continue when you have stopped laughing.)Plus neither of my parents ever drank coffee so I often wonder how they had the patience to deal with me,especially in my teen years,but obviously they did somethings very right.

 

10 Things My Parents Did Right

1.Allowed me to chose my own friends: Even if they didn’t always agree with my choice in friends and may have nicknamed one Bubble Head, they knew if they told me who I could and could not be friends with I would just rebel.

2.Introduced me to many areas of music and again allowed me listen to pretty much anything.

3. Did not push me into learning how to cook as it was never one of my interests growing up…who knew as an adult I would love doing it.

4.Taught me to respect ALL animals regardless how weird or creepy they may be.

5.Never told me I couldn’t do something,instead encouraged me in all of my half hair brained endeavors.

6. Spanked,grounded,and took the time to explain WHY they did these things.

7. Sent me to summer camp almost every year as soon as I was old enough. Some of my best moments of my life,my closest moments to God, and most exciting things I ever did happened at these places.

8. Let me make my own decisions as I got older. As long as I could prove I had actually thought it through before I took the leap.They may not have always agreed with them all but again they knew it was something I had to learn on my own.

9. Taught me by example that ALL people deserve respect and love …. they taught me how to be a great listener and supporter of other people.

10. Through it all they kept a sense of humor. My parents taught me how to laugh and lighten up.

So what are 10 days your parents did right?

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Monday Listicles, My randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. No coffee?? Maybe I should stop drinking it too. I need to be funnier and more loving. I really do. in a year of reading your blog I always sensed that you are an amazing mom because you were brought up right. ANd loved.

  2. I love #1! As a teenager the more my parents told me not to do something the more I did it. Actually its still the same lol

  3. That sense of humor piece is SO important. Laughter just makes everything a little easier to deal with! I CAN imagine my life without it because for quite some time it had disappeared. Thankfully it is back 5 fold :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

