Not Back to School BlogHop Week 2…Our Classroom

Welcome back for week 2 of the Not Back to School Blog Hop!!!

This week we’re taking a sneak peek into everyone’s school rooms…or in most of our cases what we call “most of the house”

I know a lot of people dream of having a separate room to school in and some families are able to have that and love it. Let me just say though for years I thought that is what I wanted…and then I got it. When we first moved to WA I had a huge upstairs room that connected all of the bedrooms and thought it would be so perfect for a school room. While it was a good room to use I felt so disconnected from the rest of the house and all the things that were going on. Also,the kitchen was downstairs so if I wanted to work on baking or cooking I’d have to wait till after school time was over.
Besides we all missed sitting on the comfy living room furniture for most of our lessons.

Oh well you live you learn.

We now do school the way we’ve done it mostly throughout our homeschool career.Mainly in the dining room,spread out to the living room for reading times and extra rooms.and outside whenever possible! However whatever room you walk into there are traces of us homeschoolers all around.

Untitled

(Kenna sitting in the living room studying.)

We did just do the great room switcheroo preparing for baby last week so now we do have a nice little quiet library that houses most of our books(learning or not) as well as a stereo a desk and a big comfy chair. I’m a freak about bookshelves.I believe one cane never have enough bookshelves.

Untitled

Untitled
(sorry about the blur I was in a hurry this morning.)

Our comfy living room area also has a small shelf in it which holds supplies we use almost everyday,pencils,paper,dictionaries,math manipulatives and colored pencils just to name a few.

Untitled

This area is in our dining room. The magenta colored crate is used for folders that the kids use to keep their assignments in. They each have a folder for whatever FIAR book we are rowing and then one for the language arts/grammar.

Untitled

It is so much easier for them to just grab a previous piece of work from there then dealing with hearing 4 snapping binders all the time.The colorful drawers keep my homeschool lesson books as well as each kids gets a drawer for their silent reading and any smaller workbooks they may have.

But like I said most the time we’re crowded happily around the dining room table….

Untitled

Untitled
(and yes that is a coffee station behind Lane…a must for all homeschool moms.)

Or outside

Untitled

Untitled

 

Next week it’s School Picture time of the kiddos…this could get interesting.

 

 

 

Not Back to School Blog Hop

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Casa La Crazy, homeschool, Homeschooling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. LOVE the coffee station :) we could be friends!

  2. I love your blurred shots, hee … you are a whirlwind mom! And your coffee station too. I don’t have one on our countertop but you just reminded me to bring it out of storage. What was I thinking doing without it?! Homeschooling is awesome, yeah! I love it and go bonkers with it the same time ;)

    • I think whirlwind mom would best describe me! Now if I could find time to actually set up the baby’s room just so I know where clothing and diapers are lol. Yes there are definitely days that drive me bonkers too but at the end of the day it is all worth it!

  3. You are so amazing to do homeschooling! I don’t think I can do it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 379 other followers

