My Really Awesome Talent

So I have this really awesome talent! Ok maybe it’s more of a trick…oh who am I kidding it’s more like displacing responsibility. Only that makes it sound worst than it is,really. I would say it is procrastination but well isn’t procrastination when you find reasons not to do ANYTHING? Whereas my really awesome trick? Well yeah I know I need to get something done and it’s important but then I manage to find something else just as equally or more important that I NEED to accomplish and that gets done. So it can’t really be called procrastination can it? Since, technically I’m still being productive?

Take yesterday for example. I knew the house needed mopping.

Little side rant here: I’ve come to the conclusion I’d much rather have mostly carpet in the house instead of hardwood or tile. At first I thought hey cool no more vacuuming!!! Yeah because mopping a whole house is so much more fun…not!Ok end side rant.

Alright where was I? See exactly my point I found it more important to tell you if you’re thinking about getting a house with no carpet DONT DO IT!!! Well except if mopping is like your driving force in life. If that’s the case..well then you’re just sick in the head,but that’s ok i’ll still love you. Heck I’ll even let you come mop my house!No no really I insist!

So yes yesterday I KNEW I had to mop the house. That and I needed to work on lesson plans for the African Safari unit we’re starting on Monday. Now see I even do this whole special talent thing with things I love. I love lesson planning for the kiddos, THAT is my driving force in life. I got two days done on the lesson planning and looked at the floor…yup still dirty.

I walked downstairs to grab the broom,mop and bucket. The problem with that is I have to walk through the kitchen to get to them and oh wait…didn’t I need to bake some bread before we ran out?While I was at it shouldn’t I start restocking my freezer with nummy muffins and breads? I mean I finally have the space and it’s so nice to be able to just grab bread right out of the freezer to go with a meal. Yes,yes, I definitely needed to do some baking.

So I grabbed my biggest bowls and started making up some bread to rise. Then I decided to use up the big can of pumpkin I had.While I was at that might as well mix up some garlic breadstick stuff as well. Then I reasoned with myself.If I’m gonna do all this baking, the floor is just gonna need mopping again, so I might as well do the baking today and the mopping tomorrow. See now that’s talent right there…or at least a really awesome trick…oh heck it’s who am I kidding it IS procrastination.

Oh well 4 dozen pumpkin muffins later…my kitchen smelled really really yummy! Now it’s the next morning and it is time for me to mop the floors, that is unless I can find something else just as important that absolutely has to get done.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Cooking/Baking, homeschool and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. SOOOOOO glad to know I’m not the only one…except with me, it’s the bathrooms…I once painted a room because that was somehow more pressing than cleaning two bathrooms.

    • oh i have a WHOLE house that needs painting. I’ll trade you. The prior owners decided to do whole rooms in one single color such as a master bedroom in ALL dark blue ….yeah no joke! I’ll clean your bathrooms if you paint my house and you know we’ll prolly just end up sweeping,filing, and going on a double date with our exercise equipment instead

  2. I love your reasoning, wish I had good reasons for not doing what I am or should be doing.

Leave a Reply

