Sometimes I Even Surprise Myself: Lemon Cake Pancakes

The kiddos woke up to momma fully dressed, jammin out to Gold Digger and singin along(quite badly but hey I can rap all the parts), while slingin a spatuala. Hmmm wonder why they say they’re sendin me to the old folks home when they all grow up? Because even at 90 I’ll probably still be doing the same thing.

Ok so bad singing, and bad dancing aside,what was I making? I decided to try and experiment. See back in Bullhead City before I moved a friend of mine gave my like 10 boxes of cake mix. Why on earth she would give me those i have no clue since I do everything from scratch. I took the though and since we’ve moved the kids have used them and I also used them for my cranberry muffin recipe. Maybe having cake mix on hand is not a bad thing.

Well I’m down to only lemon cake and carrot cake(blech puke…oops did i write that?) So I pulled a box of lemon down, because let’s face it carrot cake pancakes just does NOT sound appetizing. What I concocted is pretty darn delicous and this is coming form a girl who doesn’t really care for lemon.

First you have to gather your 3 most important supplies to make pancakes. 1. Your pancake flipper 2. Your big cup o coffee and 3. So you can tease all your facebook friends about what a great breakfast you’re making….

So then I just went to work. The recipe is very easy…it’s pancakes not rocket scientist. Besides my kids’ll eat anything.

The Ingredients

1 box lemon cake mix

1 c. flour

2 eggs

2 cups milk

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 c water

 

Mix together and VIOLA!!! Lemoncake pancakes. I’m not a huge lemon fan but I tried one and Oh My Goodness!!! It’s a very delicate pancake. Really the only topping you need is powdered sugar. The kids of course ate their’s with syrup. I’m gonna have to make some kinda glaze to go with these at some point.

The kids gave two thumbs up and was definatly a nice switch up to regualr pancakes

Pay no attention to my rough edges on my pancakes. Somewhere in the move I lost my cast iron griddle….sadness. Hopefully I’ll find it soon but I have a feeling it got left behind.

So anyone wanna guess how many pancakes there are?

Quick math lesson….10 stacks of 4……yes 40 pancakes and yes they’re all gone!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OMG, these were GOOD! I still have half the batter left over to make sometime this week. I was so surprised at how sweet the batter was (yeah, I’m a spoon licker) versus how mild the pancake was…but delish! Keep sharing those recipes!!!

Leave a Reply

