OK so I may have this habit of biting off more than I can chew…taking the big leap of hey I can do this…”I AM WOMAN HEAR ME ROAR” kind of thing. Luckily I have some great people in my life that well either know I have a history of doing this…or oblige me in my grand schemes. Yesterday was the second. Oblige me in my grand schemes and umm we were well rewarded. For instance did you know I have a rose bush in my back yard?No?Neither did i! Amazing what happens when you whack up about 6 years of weeds and start clearing out just as much junk from prior renters….grrrr

OK I know there are still weeds all around it. But umm seriously this is about half the weeds there were before.

Where was I?Oh yes my habit of biting off more than I can chew. As if packing up and moving from AZ to WA in a week wasn’t more than I could chew.I rented a house I have a love hate relationship with.The fact that it’s 104 years old and out in the middle of farm country I LOVE!!!! The fact that it’s 104 years old and probably has had no good tenants in it and the landlord doesn’t care, for the last 10 years I HATE!!!! Seriously this place was soooo trashed I prolly should’ve just walked away. But well umm I guess I just like a challenge?And yes if you’re my friend…I’ll probably drag you into the challenge with me.

SO when I rented this house there was trash in the backyard that was supposed to be disposed of. The landlord has taken his sweet time taking it out. That’s a whole nother post in itself. SO yesterday we went out back and started hacking down weeds and I started throwing down garbage from the umm I don’t know what they’re called but my backyard raises and well obviously it was a convenient place to hide trash…and snakes…(see my about me so you realize how much these things freak me out)

(flexing muscles) yes sir I got these things down as well as a bunch more we burned.Ummm washer was from inside as well as the waterbed frame(which will be used for various projects)and this is about a quarter of what was left when we moved.

There was blood(from broken glass found), sweat(well obviously), and tears(ahem cough cough maybe from the stupid snake), involved in yesterdays work but the end result was well worth it. Now mind you it’s not done but heck when you have neighbors coming over and basically hugging you and offering you THEIR tools to get the job done, you know you’re doing something right

Ok pretty much everything in the second pic was total killer weeds about thigh high.(I may exagerate bout the killer part…MAY)

all the dead weeds from back there have been removed.

How come no one told me I had a pretty brick wall and shrubbery in my back yard???? I am sooo thankful for the help I had in discovering this!!Seriously there was about 4 feet of weeds,dead brush, and overgrowth in front of this. This trail leads all the way up to the area I was cleaning out(which I didn’t take a pic of yet )

So after getting all of this out we realizes umm I had trashed most of my clean backyard!!!!So we decided to start a burn pile. Me being the law abiding citizen I am walked down to the police station to see what the burning laws were(even though we had smelled others burning earlier) and wouldn’t you know it the ONE police officer this town has was not on duty. Sooo umm we may have burned anyways…notice I say MAY HAVE. There’s no proof…oh wait

So yea we burned a bunch of wood, bushes,and other assoretd things found in the backyard. The neighbors seriously were crying tears of joy. Well ok maybe not tears but she was jumping up and down as much as I was!

And now we’re headed back out to rake some more…clip some more..and pick up more trash.Yes there’s still more trash. It might just be another chef boyardee dinner tonight…..yuck puke. Then when the yard is done it’s onto another project. Someone suggested turning the upstairs kitchen into a 5th bedroom….hmm can it be done?

 

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Single mom, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That is impressive…and you’re totally welcome to come to my house and perform the same miracle… 🙂

Leave a Reply

