And Sometimes I Cheat

Let me tell you a story..I promise it’ll be a short one…really

When I was making my 24 hour decision to move back home to WA I made a list. A list of what was good about WA and what was good in AZ the list looked a little like this

Washington

Family

Friends

4 seasons

My homestate

No more being homesick during the holidays

Snoqualmie Falls pancake mix

RAIN!!!!!

REAL TREES!!!!

GRASS!!!!

Cooler weather

wearing hoodies and jeans almost year round

lakes,rivers, not too far from the Puget Sound

 

and now for the AZ list

Arizona

My parents (trust me this was a big thing to leave)

easy homeschool laws

 

And umm that was the list of comparisons for whether or not I pack it all up and move to WA or stay in AZ. Clearly the right decision was Washington. I’m reminded of this almost daily as well! I made the right decision. Trust me the list for WA grew by the minute too. Notice anything kinda outta place in the WA list though? Yes one of my deciding factors was..Snoqualmie Falls Pancake mix.You can only get this mix as fas I know in the Northwest. When we came up to Oregon last year with my parents they bought three bags to stock up on and take back home to AZ.

Beautiful place huh? Ummm well even better pancake mix.

Ok normally I balk at my friends and tease them for using pancake mix because really making pancakes from scratch was one of the first things I taught myself to do and it is sooooo easy. I just don’t understand why you would waste money on the premade mix. Well unless of course it’s Snoqualmie Falls pancake mix. Ok OK I’m a food snob…I’ll admit it….and I’m ok with it. Really…I am!

The first week we got here I went grocery shopping and it was first on my list. We went down the cereal aisle I saw the name Snoqualmie Falls and jumped up and down for joy quietly squeeling and promising my kiddos the best pancakes ever! Yes I make scenes worst than my kids in stores. It’s ok I don’t think I’ve psychologically damaged them….to badly anyways.I grabbed the bag noticing it was yellow not brown but was so overjoyed I didn’t give it a second thought. The next morning as Holly was helping me get stuff ready for breakfast she started reading the directions on the bag. ” Boil water before putting oats in”

Wait! Oats?????? NOOOOOO!!!!! WHO KNEW? Snoqualmie Falls also puts out an oatmeal. Talk about major downer. All I wanted was some freakin Snoqualmie Falls pancakes!!!

So when we went into town the other day. Kenna wrote on the list Snoqaulmie Falls pancake mix! She then asked what color the bag usually is and wrote down brown bag as well 🙂 Hey we all need our kids to keep us in check once in awhile right?Needless to say I found this bag!

And the rain stopped raining,the skies cleared,the sun came out and the angles sang a chorus of hallelujahs…or maybe it was just me and the kids.

Yesterday for breakfast we all pigged out on at least 7 pancakes each. The kids agreed mom’s pancakes don’t touch these…and I’m ok with that…really!

So yes sometimes I cheat…and sometimes it’s totaly worth it!

 

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

