A peek into my mornings…

Most of my friends think I’m crazy for waking up at 4:30 in the morning. Even when I explain that is the only time I get to myself. I can wake up,start my coffee,turn on the computer, get Pandora coming to calm whatever my latest music craze is(right now it’s sappy Colbie Calliat songs) and just relax.

However on mornings I may sleep in till 6 or 6:30 … my nice two-hour ritual gets cut short. In fact it gets cut wayyyyyy to short. Some people don’t understand I NEED these two hours in the morning to be ready for the day. I will gladly sacrifice a couple of hours of sleep to make sure I am happy and well coffeed(is that even a word?) by the time the kids wake up.

This morning though I slept in and umm well…

Let me just give you a peek into my mornings of when I sleep in till 6:30

“Mom what if one of us was blind?We wouldn’t be able to do chores huh mom?” Contributed by Lane while sweeping the floor.

My answer “oh yes you would because you would be able to feel your way around”

Lane,”Yes but what if we were recently blinded?You know where we didn’t know how to feel our way around yet and stuff”

Me shaking my head and giving a giant facepalm. The kid does not understand I slept in and have not had enough coffee in my system to thoroughly function yet.You see on a normal morning I’ve already had a pot before the kids wake up,plus I’ve had my fresh air.

 

 

Yes my New Life Center Friends that is a church mug. I can’t believe I have it after all these years! So yes as I sit out on my badly needed painting porch I get to look out on this:

This view in the morning pretty much makes up for the fact that I’m renting a house that’s falling apart…pretty much.

 

However on the mornings I sleep in, the kids come bounding down the stairs all bright and cheery ready to do chores. Wait what????You mean they’re not all bright and cheery?

Ok she may LOOK like she’s happy but as soon as I snapped this the words “JEEZE mom are you just gonna stand there and take pictures?” Anyone want a prepubescent preteen? Anyone???Anyone??Bueller?Bueller??

And as I snapped this picture I uttered the words

“If that dirty sock spends one more day on the floor….”

“I just SAW it,” Lane replied to which I replied

“Really?It’s been there 3 days I’ve been waiting to see how long it would take you to pick it up without me saying anything.” DEAR LORD!!!!! WHEN did I become my mother????

Then of course there’s the sound of arguing between the 6-year-old and 12-year-old on the correct way to do dishes. I paired them up so the 6-year-old would learn from the 12-year-old. Yea Wendy how’s that workin out for ya?

Now of course their chores are done and the smells of bagels are coming from the toaster.Four hungry kids and chores done for the morning. I really don’t have too much to complain about. Life is good

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on July 22, 2011, in Single mom and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

