Meet my kiddos…Nathaniel

My oldest child Nathaniel is in the throws of becoming a pubescent teen. I love boys at this age. When I was younger I worked with a group of youth kids at one of my churches of this age. Nathaniel is slowly figuring out who he is and what he wants to do.

It has not always been a smooth road with my oldest. In fact as an infant we almost lost him at only 2 weeks old. Him being my oldest means in a lot of ways he’s been my “test” child seeing what works and what doesn’t. I was your “normal” over protective mom with him for a long time. Till I figured out if I just stepped back and let him breathe a little more he would figure things out

He is one of the most empathetic children I have ever met. He really has a gift for coming alongside others who may be going through a hard time and helping them.

He also has a mouth on him. I swear I don’t know where he got that from 🙂 The hard part of being 12 is well you’re not really a child anymore and you’re definitely not an adult yet. So what are you? He is learning,with guidance, when to open his mouth and speak and how far is too far.

He constantly makes me laugh. He loves his video games and being able to get outdoors. Yet somehow I think if I gave him a choice he’d sit and play video games all day. I love that he is getting to the age where we can read the same books and both enjoy them!

He has been such a big help in getting our yard into shape. Has stepped into the wonderful world of fire and how to use it responsibly lol. He’s the first one to help when we’re doing a burn pile.

Yes he’s still at that scrawny age as well. Which he takes all in good stride. What can I say he really is an amazing kid and am so proud to call myself his mom

Oh and when he sleeps…he looks like this

Be afraid…Be VERY afraid!

And you’re welcome Nathaniel! Thank you for letting me be your mom!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Single mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. New to your blog… and can I say that I LOVE the title! lol…

    It was nice to meet your oldest. My oldest will be 12 next month. I think my most favorite part was when you said you sometimes felt like he was your “test” child. I have always felt that way, and I tell mine that all the time. 😀 Doesn’t mean I don’t love him as much as my youngest, as a matter of fact, my oldest has a very special place in heart outside of just being my child…he was the reason I was able to really prioritize my life in a way that made me stop putting myself first (I know, horribly selfish). There is a 5 year age difference in my boys and there are quite a few areas in which what I allowed/didn’t allow is different for the two of them.

    I also enjoyed your other post, the one where you made him write the essay. That is an excellent idea. My youngest actually might be doing that very soon! They use Time4Learning, which is online homeschool curriculum. Because of this, I guess my youngest thinks I have no part in their school. :/ When jokingly asked over the weekend who is teacher is, he looked at me and said “I don’t know their names!” Arghhhh, lol. My oldest is more perceptive, so he sees more “behind the scenes” stuff. I think the wee one is going to get a lesson in that. Writing a few sentences about what I do will help him understand there is more to it, but it was also make him practice his handwriting. Yay! 🙂

    Sorry to write so much in a comment… very much looking forward to reading more of your blog!

    • Katie so glad to hear from you! Welcome to the blog. Yes I was really surprised by some of the stuff he wrote in there and glad to see he GOT it!
      I totally know what you are saying about making you be less selfish and no it doesn’t sound horrible at all. Nathaniel did the same thing for me and my kids continue to do it for me daily. There is just nothing like being a mom I’d never replace it! I hope you continue to enjoy the posts!

Leave a Reply

