Happy Birthday to My Daddy

So this guy kinda has a special place in my heart. He has been there for me to teach me how to ride a bike,how to catch a loose pig,how to work on my car,and has spent countless hours listening to me scream and cry over understanding math.(and that screaming and crying part may have only been last year when I was taking an algebra class!)

This guy is my daddy and today is his birthday! Yes I know I’m 34 but in my heart he will always be my daddy. Call me a daddy’s girl if you want but he will be the first one to tell you that just because I call him daddy doesn’t mean I’ll listen to him. That’s one of the things I love about him. He has always known I’m my own person.

He has taught me the value of hard work, as well as being myself and not worrying about what others think. I honestly couldn’t have been blessed with a better father.

Last year me and my parents took a trip up to Oregon because my uncle,my dad’s older brother, was very very sick. I was so thankful that he saw the importance of me going up there. I was so honored to be able to be with my dad and my uncle for my uncle’s last days.

My dad has always been a thinking man. Meaning he thinks before he does.I on the other hand have always been a go for it girl. Meaning I go for it,then I think about it.It’s a healthy balance. I remember the night I jumped off my roof to sneak out. Yes yes very dumb move that resulted in two broken feet. As he was driving me to the hospital we drove by a basketball court. He smirked at me and asked,

“Wanna pull over and shoot a few hoops?” I’m glad he found the humor in it, because I certainly did not till years later.

Not only has my daddy always been there for me as a child but in my adult life as well. In fact since my grandpa’s passing(his father) I think he’s the only other man who can beat me at my own stubbornness. I have been blessed to have him at my oldest two’s deliveries. I remember being to stubborn to sign the c-section consent for Nathaniel and dad standing next to me as my ex pleaded for me to just sign it.(really the labor had just gone on for 36 hours and everyone was getting worn out including me but I was too stubborn to admit it)My daddy looked at me again looked at the monitor looked back at me and said,

“What are you gonna do have an 18-year-old inside of you?You need to sign the papers” I knew I needed to sign them but was too stubborn to admit defeat. I signed the papers. My daddy was able to come into the operating room with us. Heck the doctor even let him watch over his shoulder. When I was scared because there were no sounds coming from Nathaniel dad assured me he was ok until I heard his first cries.

With Kenna, dad had flown up to help out because my mom had come earlier but had ended up with a ruptured appendix. I remember going 10 days past due and coming home from grocery shopping and feeling a pop. I promptly said “uh oh” and my dad said,

” I don’t wanna hear uh oh I’ve been hearin uh oh for the last 10 days” Well it turned out my water DID break. So as i was running around the house trying to get ahold of the sitter and such he kept telling me to just get to the hospital he didn’t want to end up delivering the baby himself. Little did he know how close he was going to come to actually delivering Kenna. Later, early the next morning as we were all in the delivery room the nurse was calling for the Dr. and the dr was taking her sweet time. My dad was watching and when the dr walked into the room he told her “I think you need to hurry” the Dr. kind of brushed him off for a second till she saw Kenna’s head. She got a quick lesson in you should always listen to my daddy.

When things started going badly with Reed my dad was not able to fly up. My mom did and my dad was left in Arizona because of some medical problems. He did however go and buy a calling card just for me and him so we could talk whenever. When I found out the news that Reed was not going to live he was the first person I called.

I am so thankful to have had a constant daddy in my life. He taught me what a man should be. He has shown me what a father should be. He has filled the gap for my own children when their own dad hasn’t always stepped up.

He has had his fair share of health problems over the years. OK MORE than his fair share, but through it all he plugs right on along.

They don’t make very many men like my daddy anymore. My only hope is that my own sons will grow up and follow in his footsteps.

Happy Birthday Daddy!!!

We All Love You Very Much!!!! Even if you’re giving me your forced smile in this picture!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

