The Accidental Cook

I had the following conversation with my mom the other day.

“Grrr my angel food cake kinda stuck to the pan.Not real bad and it turned out fine but yeah.” (yes I really do say grr.It’s one of my cute little quirks 🙂 )

“You didn’t grease the bunt pan well enough,” she answered

“No mom you’re not supposed to grease the pan because when the eggs whites expand it acts as the grease and then when the cake cools down they contract a bit which is why it should just slide out.Especially after it sits upside down for an hour.”

You could hear mom hiding her snickers(yes you could mom)as she said,”Well listen to you Julia Childs”

Now it was my turn to snicker

“Hardly,Joy the Baker explained it. It just frustrates me because last time it turned out perfectly. I wonder what I did wrong?” (Note:I baked it a little too long I think.Like I said it was still great but yeah the whole sticking thing frustrated me badly enough I wanna make another one)

I’m sure at this point mom just wanted to giggle some more.

You see before oh about 7 years ago I could basically burn toast,cook ramen,and a pretty mean roast. My kids ate mostly premade things from the store,or gasp McDonalds.Even after my move to Phoenix I was working so much that yea…we ate.

Not like my mom didn’t try to get me interested in cooking and baking. I remember as a young girl baking Christmas cookies with her. She would ask me as I got older if I wanted to help her with meals and my answer was always no. It just seemed like so much…work. I remember asking her once.

“How do you get all the food to be done at the same time?” See it’s little things like that  They get my brain all wrapped up in worry and then well why even attempt it?

So yes growing up I had no interest in cooking. I had this great plan I would grow up,get married,become a teacher or soap opera actress(don’t even ask) and well eat out or have food delivered to me. I’d be too busy to cook anyways.

I had no interest in learning how to cook

Then I grew up

My mom would usually buy me a cookbook for either Christmas or my Birthday.I would thank her then wonder what she was thinking I didn’t want to learn to cook. The kids ate plenty of fruit and veggies and tater tot casserole we were good.

One day something weird happened. I don’t know why or even HOW it happened. I woke up one morning and wanted to cook. I grabbed a cook book and a million phone calls to my mom later I had cooked a pretty decent meal. Then I decided I wanted to learn to bake my own bread. Then before I knew it I was sitting down to make my own weekly meal plans.

There was a point in my household when I was lucky if I had a 5 pound bag of flour in my house.Now if I have anything less than 25 pounds I get nervous.

If you ask my mom she’d tell you that her and dad thought we’d live off of Mc Donalds for the rest of our lives. Now it’s one of my favorite things in the world is to cook for my parents. When I go down to visit I usually cook about 3 dinners if not more and of course my cinnamon rolls. Which you’ll find dad sneaking throughout the day.In fact this last Christmas my gift to my mom was cooking the whole dinner.

In fact now I tease my mom when she tells me she bought something premade that could be made from scratch.

Oh how the tables have turned.

Yesterday was one of those all day in the kitchen kind of days. I made 2 loaves of zucchini bread. Found an awesome recipe for Baked Zucchini sticks with and onion dip that rivals Outback for their bloomin onion. Then we did nachos supreme.I love days like those.

I rarely eat the things I make. I mean I’ll eat them but not a whole bunch of it. I would rather make sure the kids get plenty and I can share with my friends and family.I’ve been blessed with kids who for the most part like being in the kitchen and helping me cook and bake.

Yes if you could see the person I was a mere 7 years ago and who I am now….you’d shake your head and laugh.

Just don’t ask me how my gardening,yard keeping skills,or sewing are coming along.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You apparently didn’t walk up to my house often enough while you were living in AZ. 😉

Leave a Reply

