Music feeds my soul

Some of the earliest memories in my life revolve around music. I can remember being with my Grandpa Bartlett and him singing “5’2 eyes of blue” or even “oh Susannah” I remember Christmas’s with Grandma Bartlett playing the Organ or accordion and all of us singing Christmas Carols. Then as the grandkids got older we all brought our musical instruments to play with her.

I remember car rides with my parents and my dad singing “You picked a fine time to leave me Lucille” although at that time I thought the next line was 400 children and a crop with no field. Instead of 4 hungry children. I remember thinkin…umm that’s a lot of kids. I remember ABBA and Neil Diamond and Foreigner and my mom standing in line in the rain to get tickets for Neil Diamond.

I can recall singing “Satin Doll” at music camp one year and falling in love with some of the Broadway hits. Although I also remember doing a dance routine to Push It by Salt N Peppa in the same year…

In 6th grade a friend and me got dropped off in downtown Spokane for a Great White Concert.Yes 6th grade was my first hair band concert and I remember just being surrounded by a bunch of pot heads but because we were small the “adults” all pushed us towards the front. I still tell my mom ” I cannot even believe you let me go then”

I will admit to being a HUGE New Kids On The Block fan. My parents drove me and 5 other girls 5 hours to Seattle on a school night just to see them in concert.Only to turn around when it was done and head right back home.

I’ve played piano and percussion. I’ve gotten in trouble from my parents for blaring my music too loud.In fact I just had to ask dad if he could keep an eye out for a new stereo because mine is acting funny. I’m sure he’s thinking it’s because I may have turned it up too loud one too many times.

Music feeds my soul. No matter what mood I’m in I can usually find a song to identify with. There is not a day that goes by that some kind of music is played in my household.

So this year for homeschool we’re going to look at all different genres of music. Not only classical,opera,jazz,blues,country but well you can bet I’m throwing in The Beatles,The Rat Pack,Green Day,  Foo Fighters,80’s pop(Debbie Gibson anyone?),even a little Eminem. Why?

Because I want my kids to be exposed to all sorts of music. I want them to be able to find the music that feeds their soul. I want them to (hopefully) feel the same way about music as I do. I want them to have an open mind.I want them to know what was going on at that time not only with music but also in the world and how it shaped music.

This should be a very fun school year.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 18, 2011, in homeschool, Homeschooling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. With homeschooling sky is the limit. I look forward to seeing what direction the kids take!

  2. I took a US history class at the University of Michigan and the professor gave us samples of music that was popular during different time periods and discussed why they were popular. I loved that he was able to connect music that way. I always thought if I became a history teacher I would want music in my lessons too!!

Leave a Reply

