Yes I’m a single mom part 2:The importance of other single mom friends

It may seem like a really silly thing and maybe even a little discriminatory but if you’re a single mom I think it’s really important to have other single mom friends. In fact I was just thinking about that last night.

Me and my Bestie are both single moms. When we both lived in Arizona life wasn’t so lonely. Why? Because once a week we got together,made pizza for the kids,turned up the music loud and we just all hung out. Even when it was just the two of us we always had a good time.

(yes yes and we showed each other’s kids how to get a bit crazy and you can still have fun)

If one of us was encountering a new uncharted territory such as replacing a toilet…we would call the other one. Between the two of us (and usually a phone call to my dad) we’d get it figured out.

The other beauty of having a single mom for a best friend,our families became blended. Our kids would joke that they both had other mothers. Her dad became my dad and vica versa. Instead of having 4 kids we both had 8 kids. We would joke that there were my kids and my Mexican kids.She had her kids and her White kids. All 8 kids KNEW they could come to either one of us if they had a problem.We loved each others kids unconditionally.

Oh and when “I’m gonna be the lonely old cat lady for the rest of my life” moment struck at 3 am either one of us knew we could call the other with no repercussions.

It’s like guys in a bar,women at a scrap booking club,kids in a clubhouse. They get you. Even without saying a word I could just give my Bestie a look and she knew what I was thinking. Whether or not you want to admit it,you’re in a “club” for lack of a better word. So why make it something negative? Reach out find another single mom and forge an unbreakable friendship. I’m certain you won’t regret it.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Single mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yep, very VERY important to have friends who can relate and understand, or at the very least, not pretend to undertand because that’s pretty annoying too.

    • You hit the nail on the head Stace(sorry can i call you Stace?) It is really really hard to try to vent to someone who is married about how you were up all night with 4 sick kids and then she complains because her husband forgot to bring milk home after work. I have loads of married friends and am always there for them too but there’s just somethings only another single mom will get,

  2. I’m not a single mom, but I totally agree–I want to move next door to my only real mom friend because my kids are like her 2nd set and vice versa. Sigh. One day!

  3. Great advice I NEED to heed!!

Leave a Reply

