Grocery Shopping 101

When I was in the “popping out babies every 13 months to 2 years” stage of my life my favorite time of the week was the one that fell every two weeks on payday. Was it date night or even girl’s night? Was it when I got to go get a pedicure? No ….it was when at 4;30 in the morning, no matter how many babies had woken me up the night before, I would drag my tired butt out of bed and get dressed and get ready to go grocery shopping.

Yes even before my baking and cooking days I enjoyed something about going grocery shopping. Even though I HATE math,(despise might be a better word) I got satisfaction of knowing what my budget was and getting the most for my dollar. Plus in all honesty it was the only time I could go somewhere without the kids with me. It was my time of solitude.

Then the divorce came and the kids and I moved all the way down to Arizona. I’ll admit it for a bit I was horrified at the thought of having to take 4 kids to the grocery store.

That’s when I decided to make it into a “full family job.” Everyone has a part in the grocery shopping. Whether it’s running the calculator,reading and checking off the list,  pushing the cart, or bagging the groceries. Holly is slowly moving up to the part of reading the list as Kenna is moving into the calculator part.

Sometimes there is whining. Most the time though we can get into the grocery store and get our stuff done. The kids are slowly learning how to help compile the list of things we need as well.

Yesterday was our grocery shopping day. While I had to readjust a little since I’m now living in roomies the trip went well.We also hit another couple extra stores that normally we don’t but glad we did.

The last part of the whole experience? Learning how to organize a fridge so all the food fits as well as a freezer and pantry. Sometimes we’re cutting meat and storing it.

There are so many lessons the kiddos can learn just by embracing a simple grocery shopping trip!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on October 11, 2011, in Homeschooling, Single mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s always one of my favorite times as well. Going without the kids IS a bit like a vacation, but I also Love bringing Bella and having her push her own little cart(they have kid ones at CubFoods) while Sarin usually dozes in the wrap. It takes longer but it’s so much fun, plus I’m always amused by what bella asks to put in her cart. She usually starts with Broccoli!! Yep, she’s my lil weirdo, lol!

  1. Pingback: The Benefits Of Buying A Used Honda | Review Guide Live

Leave a Reply

