LIfe change number 5,679

The beginning of next week I have not one but TWO birthdays! I’m having a hard time believing my baby will be 7 and my second youngest will be 9. It is hard for me to believe that 7 years ago at this time I was working my most favorite job ever at a preschool,teaching. So much has changed since then.

7 years ago I was married,my oldest was in Kindergarten, I was working my dream job, and I owned my own home. Little did I know in like a mere 6 months the beginning of many life changes would take place. The mill I had grown up with my dad working at, and at that time 7 years ago my husband had worked at for many years, would close down. This would finally open my eyes to the real world around me.

A move to Oregon would come first. Every last attempt to save my “family” would be made, only to be shut down by “Just deal with its,and I don’t hit you when I drink so what’s the big deal.” In attempt to save my “family” I would send my oldest to public school to figure out how to save my marriage. Turns out I was “ruining the kid’s life” so yet another thing I could not do right and needed “training on”

From that point on yet another life change would take place.At 28 years old I would pack up me and the kids and move to the jungle of Phoenix Arizona. There I would finally figure out what is important to me. Learning how to survive for my kids and no one else.

A year later would bring yet another move with my kids to Northern Arizona where I would stumble and fall yet again,but my kids were always first.

Now 6 years after leaving Washington/Oregon for Phoenix I am back.I am back and I’m stronger and more sure of myself than ever. I know what’s best for me and my kiddos and don’t let anything stand in my way. Is it hard?Of course it is. Am I happy?For the most part I am. I rarely have anything to complain about,every once in a while I hit little rocks in the road.

My roomate situation has turned out great but because of a rock I can’t control I will be moving in with my cousin for a while,the beginning of November. It will give me time to straighten out some things that have come up since my move. It also looks like I have an offer at a job. So pair those two things with my youngests’ birthdays coming up and I’m pretty busy this last week.

If you would have asked me 12 years ago what I thought my life was going to be like I would’ve never imagined this. It’s been a crazy ride at times. All I know is we will hit the finish line with a smile and every one will be alright.

The Next Phase 

by Wendy Bartlett

 

This is not the life I thought it would be

Nor can I say it’s so much better than I ever imagined

It is my life though

And I would not trade it for anything

 

Sit down hold on tight

If you’re by my side I promise

To get us through this

Maybe not always with smiles but always alive

 

Every episode, every season

I have taken something from

Tucked in my heart

To use for later, I will remember.

 

Strong on the outside

But only if you could see inside

Quite the opposite

Timid, quiet, awkward, and nervous

Full of dreams and wishes is what you would see

 

Breathe in Breathe out

Deep breaths of sanity

Some days that’s all I can do

To make sure I survive the day.

 

No, this is not the life I thought it would be

Nor can I say it’s so much better than I ever imagined

But I will embrace it and take from it what I can

Hold onto the memories and walk head on into the next phase.

 

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You sound like a very strong woman. Good luck in everything; I have a feeling you can do it better than most.

  2. Wendy Darling,
    Sometimes it’s the changes that make us who we are and with change 5,679, YOU are learning strength… keep breathing, keep smiling, Happy “Birth” Day x’s 2… Blowing kisses… xoxo

  3. I hope you work out the things that have come up. I am sorry you are having to move again, even if just temporary. I can not believe all that you have been through in such a short amount of time. What I find even harder is that I have known you for most of that time, even if online only. You really are a strong person. I am glad to have had the opportunity to get to know you.

  4. Life change 5,679!! I LOVE the title!! It’s weird but I feel like I’ve gotten to know you a bit and you have become an inspiration to me. Go on with your bad self!! And Happy Birthday to the little ones!!

Leave a Reply

