Routine Yes….Mundane Never!!!

Well this is going into the 3rd or 4th week I’ve been up at B’s aunt’s house…I think it’s the 3rd but seriously sometimes it’s like living in a time warp here. The kids have all settled into their routines as well as me. I get up when B gets up spend some time with him(or blogging like I am now), then once he leaves I have about 20 minutes of “alone time” before I wake up his oldest and on Monday,Wednesday,and every other Friday his youngest as well. Get them ready for public school with breakfast and doggy tails, and then usher them out the door with I love you’s and hugs.Umm very Donna Reed,June Cleaver,or which ever 50’s housewife you want to relate to.Well except without the pearls.I’m usually still in pj pants with a cup of coffee in my hand. I know Mrs. Cleaver….the horror!

Barbara Billingsley Pictures, Images and Photos

From there on I start my kiddos days of chores,breakfast and our school.(We’ve switched over to Story of The World vol 2 for right now.)Then we usually chill for a bit in the early afternoon before the girl or girls return. If Dede is staying home with us she does school with us as well.By 2:45 I have my kiddos back around the dining room table to start workbook work and await the kids arrival.

Depending on whether or not his aunt is working nights I either scramble to get dinner on the table by 5:30 while helping 6 kiddos with work, or I get a little bit of a breather. Then dinner,then showers for those who need it,then read to them,then prayers and bed…..

And I’ve been complaining that I’m tired for no good reason? Just reading those last 3 paragraphs make me tired.

So yes sounds like a very good routine but you have to throw in the fact that besides B,me and the kiddos, there are 4 other people living here. There are texts going back and forth to the two college kids wondering if they’ll be home tonight for dinner or later,an aunt who’s an OB nurse and works a rotating shift,and a 14 year old who actually usually jumps right in when he gets home to help with homework or whatever else needs to be done.(the other night he taught Holly greater than and less than,it was really cute.)

Last night’s dinner was one of the best I’ve had in a long time. We have a ton of turkey left over so I decided after reading this recipe…http://tastykitchen.com/blog/2011/11/homemade-chicken-and-dumplings/ I would make turkey and dumplings. I was a little nervous about making the rolled out dumplings as I’ve never attempted that before,but the minute I got my hands into the dough I knew it would be alright!

It’s been awhile since I’ve had my hands in anything but laundry(oh did I not mention the laundry?)

where was I?Oh right last night’s dinner. Seriously good and waaayyy easy and fast. Try it!Now!

So last night’s dinner, was one of the best and loudest dinners I’ve experienced in a long time! B was working late, and aunt Nancy and her youngest were out running errands so it was just me,the kids,and the two college age cousins.

So umm only,9 of us last night.

Ha! And I had a cousin who was complaining about cooking Thanksgiving Dinner for 17.(12 is the norm around here.9 is a light night)

It started out with the older boys throwing out random spelling words to the kids.You know words like cataclysm, or pseudonym, then it moved onto the Nordic words. Then I reminded the boys they were studying Rome, so it moved into Roman Mythology,then onto Greek. Everyone was shouting out questions and answers. Trust me it got loud. And the grand finale? Well Xmen trivia of course.While the older kids were all taking part of that,Holly and Dede were giving each other words to spell as well.

It really was cute but by the time dinner and chores were done, I was so ready to tuck those kiddos into bed. We read our last bit of Super Fudge and called it a night.

So yes we’ve definitely settled into a routine,no matter how crazy it may be,I’m loving and cherishing every moment of it.

Now will someone please pass me the coffee,or valium……heck make it both!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Cooking/Baking, Homeschooling, Kids Randomness, Single mom and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Coffee and valium go great together, I’m pretty sure June Cleaver was sneaking that cocktail her whole life.

  2. You must get some pearls STAT. I love reading about your day, you really have it together.

    • Yes I think some pearls and of course start putting the kid’s lunches into brown paper bags….oh and my own theme music for when the two girls bound off to school every monring.Darn it now I have the Leave it To beaver song in my head. I Obv watched too much TV growing up

  3. You are wonder-mom! So many little feet scurrying around

  4. I’m all about a good routine…that being said, let me worship the ground you walk on (in pj pants and all) because I’m overwhelmed by 2, and you’re deftly handling 6! Wow!!

  5. Before I was a parent I would scoff at the idea of a routine. When I had kids, I would not be tied down to routine, we would go happily willy-nilly throughout our day. Now that I have kids I am all about the routine thing! Sounds like you have a good one in place all be it a busy one.

Leave a Reply

