Dinner Success

So I really really didn’t want to do dinner last night. I had absolutely no desire to cook as far as I was concerned everyone could just have cereal. But then they whined and said things like,

“But your cooking is so good!”

“You’re the goddess of cooking”

“C’mon you know you wanna feed all 11 of us.”

“Wendy you rock.”

ok ok maybe they didn’t say EXACTLY that but you could see it on their faces….

So as i didn’t take anything out to defrost I decided to use my genius ingenuity (it’s still early my brain isn’t functioning yet) and use what we had for leftovers. Ummm I had leftover  french dip  meat and a ton of corn tortillas….enchiladas anyone?Oh I had no tomato sauce to make the enchilada sauce but I did have tomato soup.could I pull it off????

I’m assuming by the fact that I had to hide two plates of enchiladas for the people working and there was none left out of the two 9×13 pans that I pulled it off.

It was super easy to make to. I used the tomato soup and watered it down a bit then added taco seasoning as well as cumin and red pepper and some cilantro and VIOLA enchilada sauce. I would tell you the exact measurements but well when you’re cooking for 12 there is no exact measurements.

Then my handy helper of the night (Trin) shredded up the french dip meat and we heated that with some onion and a bit of taco seasoning. We loaded the corn tortillas with the meat and cheese (after heating the tortillas) poured the last of  sauce on top of the enchiladas topped with more cheese and heated in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Dinner was consumed in about 15 minutes flat. I served it with a side of refried beans. Which by the way did you know my oldest HATES beans….and potatoes!!!! HOW does a white boy NOT like potatoes????

So there you have it….a fairly uncomplicated absolutely consumable meal made out of left overs from the night before!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Cooking/Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. —You are the Goddess of Cooking :))

    WOW, talk about using your resources!

    Xx

Leave a Reply

