A Quiet Awwww Moment?

Is it sad that I now think a break in cooking is only cooking for us 8 instead of all 12?I was overjoyed at the prospect of it last night. Mondays the boys are usually gone and aunt Nancy and the youngest boy do their mom/son thing,so yup only the 8 of us for dinner.

The best part of that though was for once the video games were off and I was free to listen to some Christmas music(finally) ***sidenote*** Michael Buble has a Christmas album that sounds totally awesome! We’ve heard a couple of the tracks on the radio and -sigh- I’m in love with it.(the cd not him)

So after working on schoolwork and homework in the afternoon I started dinner. I suggested to the kiddos they all grab a book and within minutes this was the scene around the living room.

 

Photobucket

The boys happily reading ignoring any video game controllers that may be taunting them.

Photobucket

Trin had been reading to Holly shortly before this but was happy to be able to read her own stuff for awhile.

Photobucket

Kenna reading to Dede while she listened intently.Shhhh don’t tell Dede she’s learning about Greek Mythology.

I have to say it was just one of those perfect family moments while we all waited for B to get home and I finished up dinner.

It was also quite the switch from me trying to get this pic earlier in the day of Kenna and Nathaniel
Photobucket

Kenna had sat down nicely on Nathaniel’s lap as we were all talking when I tried to sneak my phone out to capture the pic she tried to jump up. This of course quickly turned into a wrestling/biting match

HA! And you people think I have it all under control….I fake it quite well!

We kept the Christmas music going throughout dinner as I sat there and gave brief trivia on singers such as Brenda Lee,Dean Martin,Bing Crosby,and of course Elvis.

It was exactly the kind of dinner most families hope for. B came home part way through and we all sat for awhile and talked.

After dinner it was on to spelling for Trin while the others started chores. This has def been her struggling point so a few weeks back she set a goal for herself. She wanted to get 4 100% spelling tests in a row.

Well I’m proud to say her last two spelling tests she has gotten 100% on her spelling and only missed on of her challenge words!She’s worked so hard on school nights it’s nice to see her hard work paying off.

So as you can see,the frat house every once in awhile transforms into a house just for us and we get a quiet (or not so quiet)glimpse into what our life will be like in the not too far off future.

Honestly,I already have everything I want for Christmas.I mean really who could ask for more?

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Cooking/Baking, The Frat House. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m a big fan of reading time, but I can’t even get my bf and I to do what you managed to do with that many children

Leave a Reply

