My Budding Writer….Lane

So I haven’t posted about homeschooling in F O R E V E R !!!!! Mainly because there have been so many other blog worthy things to put onto the internet that I know you are all DYING to know about….(ahem just throw me a bone here)

Yesterday though was a day of proud moments.

You see I have this kid his name is Lane….He’s kinda a big deal but well every once in a while can get shuffled amongst the rest of my kids since he’s like oh the middle child and can be quiet!(Wait Wendy you have a quiet kid?I know right?Who’d a thunk it)

The funny thing is it usually happens at dinnertime. like when we have the twelve places set and I realize only 11 of us are sitting down.

“Ummm we’re missing someone”

“Lane mom,we’re missing Lane.”

Or when he’s standing right in front of me quietly and I ask,

“Where’s Lane?”

“MOM I’m right here!”

argghhh such proud mommy moments I know.

The funny thing while he IS quiet he is also ALL boy. He revolves around all things machine gun,dirt,weapons,and mythical creatures. He isn’t ALWAYS quiet like when it’s time for bed and him and his brother are too busy talking to care.

He’s also 9! Seriously he’s 9!!!! WHEN did that happen?Because it seems like just yesterday I was juggling him as a newborn,his 17 month old sister and a 3 and a half year old older brother while trying to make it up and down our two story apartment.

Sigh….I’ve gotten off track. I’ve been doing that a lot lately but that is a whole other blog post.

OK so Lane has told me he hates writing. He is my one child most resistant to school. He’s great at it but HATES writing. Well and as you know I LOVE writing so I can’t fathom how one of my kids could hate writing. Especially one with such an imagination! He’s been working in this writing workbook though that is pretty awesome. Some of the stuff he has written has turned out really good. Yesterday he had to write a myth and I just had to share it with all of you.

WHY THE SKY IS BLUE

by Lane Miners

The sky is blue because there is a huge blue dragon.When it is raining the dragon is drooling.When there is a lot of wind the dragon is snoring.It makes perfect sense,it’s a dragon a big fat dragon.Sorry Mister dragon.

Ok short and to the point yes/no?

What I love about this is he totally displayed his sense of humor right along with his writing. The boy is more talented then he thinks!

I love this boy he is the perfect part of all boy and momma’s boy.

Last week he had to call my mom and ask her about some popular things and do a Past/Today chart. Ok well the real assignment was ask someone who was alive 30-40 years ago. Before he could do the math I handed him the phone and told him call Grandma on this one. Of course he did the math and just suggested he ask me instead….I insisted Grandma was a better choice.Here’s what the two of them came up with:

Then                                                                              Now

Games                         Monopoly                                                                         Yahtzee Flash

Music                             Elvis                                                                                   Pink (although over the last couple days he’d prolly

change it to Skrillex.Thank you boy cousins.)

Sports                        Bowling                                                                                Soccer

Music Players           Record player                                                                  MP3

Food                            Taco                                                                                      Pizza

communication       House Phone                                                                   Cell Phone

drinks                         Hi-C                                                                                      Pepsi (atta boy)

hobbies                     Model airplanes                                                               collecting bugs

TV shows                  Happy Days                                                                        CSI

Yes my boy put CSI as one of his favorite shows of today….hmmm maybe he’ll grow up and go work for them.

I’m so proud of him and his writing. He’s come a long way from just sitting there pouting because he had to write,to writing willingly and not letting anyone see his work till he’s done.

Yea,I kinda love you Lane!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on December 8, 2011, in homeschool, Homeschooling, Kids Randomness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Love that story!! He is going places Wendy, quietly, but he is!

  2. That’s an awesome story he wrote. And I can totally see his face at the end of it, after he was done. There! 🙂
    As for the Then and Now post the only thing I have an issue with is CSI – don’t get me wrong, I love that show but I thought we had trained him better – Criminal Minds rocks!! lol

  3. Drooling Dragons, I love it!
    Ok, while I know you can not view my blog currently, I still want to share you with my blog peeps so I have given you the Versatile Blogger Award over on my site. I can’t remember if you have been given this one before so feel free to do with it as you wish. Hugs! 🙂

  4. My favourite is when he apologizes to “Mister Dragon.” Is he very sensitive or just cheeky? Either way, he’s a winner in my book

  5. –Very Creative!
    He obviously takes after his mama. :))

Leave a Reply

