Christmas Architecture

 

Every year I TRY and do a gingerbread house with the kiddos. It seems like no matter where we are or where we live that’s the one thing I can manage to do with them. Lord knows I haven’t taken them out caroling like they have bugged me for the last 5 years….yea trust me my voice is NOT a Christmas present you want on your front doorstep!

This year I decided instead of the regular gingerbread houses we’d do graham cracker ones because well there’s just not a whole lot of room for regular sized houses laying around our frat house of 12. That and the fact there are 6 kiddos! yes our kitchen is now lined with 6 very unique gingerbread houses….no wait make that 7 very unique gingerbread houses because well unless you have a camera in your hand(ahem like me),you cannot just sit there and watch the fun you must join in!!!!

Photobucket

 

B sat there watching the kiddos for about 5 minutes before I could see the wheels start turning in his head. Men I swear they take everything so seriously but it was fun to watch him create.

 Photobucket

Kenna in “create” mode.

Photobucket

The other 3 girlies working hard. Everyone’s gingerbread house seem to fall down at least once. Poor Trin’s and Holly’s fell down mulitiple times. There was lots of laughter and giggles.

Photobucket

Nathaniel trying to “cover” his art after it bit the dust. He had just said,”Mine hasn’t fallen at all” and PFFT! Down it came.

Photobucket

Lane working intensely on his masterpiece.

We worked about 2 hours and it seemed like the perfect evening. Every kid thanked me before the night was over which was really really sweet.

Photobucket

Holly with her finished “masterpiece”

Photobucket

Trin and her “chalet” after giving up on trying to keep her house standing.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Nathaniel’s finished masterpiece!

Photobucket

DeAnna’s finished house.

Lane totally evaded getting his picture taken with his finished house! I swear that kid. Honestly he is going to have the worst “middle child” syndrome a kid could ever have!

And of course the one you’re all dying to see I know!

Photobucket

B’s finished work of art.

Yes I’d say the night was a success!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on December 14, 2011, in My randomness, The Frat House and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. WOW! (Most of) those are awesome! I used a pre-fab gingerbread house a few years ago and it was still a complete disaster. Maybe because I’m Jewish.

    • haha oh i have to laugh at the Jewish remark because the cousins and aunt we’re living with are Jewish as well so while they were off doing Hanuka we did these.
      Last night my aunt made Latkes and Kugle and ohhh boy yummmm!!!! It was our Hanuka dinner.
      I never join in on the making of these because mine never turn out so I just tell my kiddos,”Well someone has to take pictures”

  2. I’ve never made gingerbread houses…but the idea of graham cracker houses seems very cool…

  3. I love making gingerbread houses. My favorite activity all Christmas, I think! (OK, besides eating.) They turned out great!

  4. What a sweet Christmas activity for the whole family! We made a zombie Christmas gingerbread house two years ago because the icing kept oozing everywhere – it was the best one ever!

  5. LOVE IT!! We’re doing them today and of course I’ll post pictures later 🙂

Leave a Reply

