Quiet Victories of Motherhood

My heart is stuck on Motherhood this morning…I’m not sure why. I headed over to Pinterest this morning to kill sometime between B leaving for work and when I had to wake up Trin for school. I immediately typed in motherhood. This quote came up and I think it’s one of the prettiest most honest quotes I’ve read in a long time:
Photobucket

“It’s what God gave you time for.”

umm…..WOW…..silence and awe followed me after reading that. Such a beautiful pros and it feels like someone took it right out of my own mind. (I WISH my mind could put words together this well.)

No one said motherhood would be easy that’s for sure. It starts from the time they’re in the womb and are making you vomit every half hour….

But rarely are the easy things in life the most rewarding.

Now throw a blended family into the mix. I am absolutley blessed with 2 “bonus” girls whom I’ve only known for the last 6 months but who have absolutely stolen my heart.

One, I know without a doubt understands how much I love her she calls me “My Wendy” because as we’ve discussed she has a mother and so when she asked what she could call me and I honestly had no idea she stumbled upon the idea of calling me “My Wendy” it melts my heart every time I hear it.

The other I believe struggles with the fact that even though I’m not her mother I do love her. I do not push this issue. I take it very tenderly and let her come to me. I remind her every night before she goes to bed and every morning when she wakes up I love her. When she is the first to say I love you I absolutely make sure I stop whatever I’m doing to tell her I love her too.

Last night I had Trin up late doing homework. It was one of our toughest nights yet. I was tired…SHE was tired. We had started off with math…we BOTH DESPISE math.

By the end of the night when all the other kids were in bed and we were wrapping up her work all both of us wanted to do was just climb into bed,but she still had spelling to do. I gave her the choice we could work on it now or I could wake her up about 10 minutes early so we could work on it in the morning.

The poor child…the decision was just too much at that moment and she crumpled into a ball of exhaustion and tears…right onto my shoulder.

At that moment all the clocks stopped,everyone in the room disappeared, and it was just me and her….two very exhausted girls.One child and one mother.

I may not be her mother,she may not have been carried in my womb,I may have only known her for the last 6 months and there have been struggles, but I love her no more and no less then I love my own children.

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on December 15, 2011, in My randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I call my mom’s husband “My Alan.” He didn’t meet me until I was eighteen and lived far from home, but he has loved me better than my father ever attempted to. 🙂

  2. —I appreciate your honesty about motherhood.

    and I love the HUGE LOVE you have for your children.

    Beautiful. X

  3. Wendy Darling,
    YOU are such a WONDERFUL Mommy (For ANY child)!!! Don’t forget, okay? xoxo
    P.S. Google Life of Fred… BEST math ever and it goes all the way up to linear algebra! Khan Academy is also a great help…

Leave a Reply

