Well Aint That a Bitch….

Teehee…ok you’ll have to excuse the title it’s 3 in the morning and well I’m a little loopy my sleeping schedule is WAY off! Then again when isn’t it way off?I don’t think I would know a normal sleeping schedule if it walked up to me and introduced itself !

Yet it is Thursday which means it’s time for Mamma Kat’s pretty much world famous writing workshop! And in an attempt to show I’m one of those writers that can write about a diverse number of things I have chosen her number number 2 this week!

Mama’s Losin’ It

2.) List the names of five dogs from your lifetime. Write about why one sparks a stronger memory to you than the others. (inspired by Writing Fix)

Growing up we never had a dog. We weren’t “dog people” we were “cat people.” In fact we had the same cat until I was 16 years old. His name was Toby and being an only child for most of my life he was basically my brother.At least that’s what my mom would tell me. No wonder I’m so twisted.

It was something I never understood because we didn’t have a dog,we weren’t dog people,yet whenever we were around other dogs both my parents enjoyed them. The standard excuse was:You can’t leave a dog alone and who would take care of it when we went to visit family?

So I lived vicariously through other people’s dogs. What? That’s not weird! Nope not one tiny bit!

The first dog I really remember being in my life wasn’t only one dog but two dogs. Jaque and GiGi and if you can’t guess they were poodles. Jaque was a miniature and GiGi was a toy. They gave me my first taste of freedom at 12 years old.You see their owners DID travel a lot and they lived right next door to us. My parents were friends with their owners so when the owners would have to go out of town I would be commissioned to dog sit. Not only dog sit but dog stay if you will.

They didn’t like the fact their dogs would be left all by themselves over night so I would spend the night with! What 12 year old wouldn’t eat up getting to hang with two very lovable dogs,have the house to themselves,AND get paid for it?

They were great dogs with lots of energy and very well behaved. Not yappy like some poodles.To this day I have a special place in my heart for poodles.

The third dog in my life was also another neighbor’s dog. Not only a neighbor’s dog but also one of my highschool teacher’s dog. Have I mentioned my mom will make friends with ANYONE???Including those that teach at the same schools as me?

I’m not sure what kind of dog Muffy was. She was black and sometimes kinda scraggly looking. For whatever reason I became her dog sitter as well. Different state,same job. Although I didn’t spend the night with her. Muffy was sweet and lovable and she would walk down three houses just to come sit on our front porch when I wasn’t dog sitting her.

I became a mommy before I ever became a dog owner. By the time I was pregnant with Holly I had my first house out in the middle of nowhere and the perfect place in my eyes to have a puppy…or two. I mean how can you separate the last two in a bunch waiting for adoption?YOU CAN’T!

So I adopted Sparkly and Magenta two half lab half blue heeler mixes. I found out pretty quickly that I suck at raising puppies as well as babies at the same time.(I had three kids all 5 and under) Yet we made it work. The kids loved playing with the puppies and at night I would let them sleep with me in my bed,because you know they got lonely and whined and needed love too.(read:Big ol Softie)They grew very quickly and by the time they were 6 months old they were each about 50 pounds.

Unfortunately someone nearby thought it would be fun to start poisoning the dogs in the area. I remember being several months pregnant with Holly trying to get two sick dogs into my minivan along with three kids and I just couldn’t do it. Turns out it was too late anyways there was nothing that could’ve helped them at this point. I still miss those dogs and they still have a part of my heart.

The last dog I had was by far the best dog you would ever ask for. He was a half Dobie half German Shepard.We adopted him from a shelter when he was about 2 years old. His name was Diego. He was very well trained…well for me that is. we bonded quickly and he was great with the kids even little Holly,who was only a baby then. At night the 100 plus pound dog would crawl into my bed and protect me from the forest boogy men.

Unfortunately the mill closed down after we got him and we were faced with feeding the kids or feeding the dog and had to find Diego a new loving family. Talk about breaking my heart.

I haven’t had any dogs since Diego we tried a few out but none really fit. I would love to have a dog for my kiddos again but seems like the timing is never right.

Maybe my mom was right,”We’re not dog people…we’re cat people.” because I have two very loving cats as well as B’s cat and another cat who is my aunts.But that is a blog for another day.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Mama Kat's Writing Workshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. And I wasn’t going to get another dog because they are too much work and I’d lose my freedom; but I’m SO glad I did. But you have to be in the right place for it. God wanted me to have Mercy – lol.

  2. Your doggy childhood sounds much like mine! I was TOTALLY thrilled when an adult coworker let me spend the weekends in her empty house to watch her pom when I was 16 – can you say FREEEDOM!?!?

    So sorry that your last dog experiences ended so sadly. I can’t even imagine :o(

  3. I hope they caught the person who decided to poison the dogs. I’m not really a pet person, but I can’t imagine actually hurting any (even ones that chase me…) even though I might threaten it in the moment of terror when I think a dog bite is in my immediate future.

  4. I’ve always been a dog person…Well, an animal person really. I love them all!

    While I’ve been a Dachshund person for the past 16 years, my first dogs were two little white poodles named GiGi and Charmagne. “GiGi”, according to my parents, was my first word! 🙂

  5. And now you have Smokey you can visit for your dog fix!

Leave a Reply

