A little bit of age never hurt anyone….

So I haven’t been much on the baking front these last two weeks.Oh I’ve made brownies and one night I did make a pazooki(a huge chocolate chip cookie topped with ice cream)But it’s all been from….gasp….shock….boxed mixes! No one in the frat house complains one bit but I know…and really that’s all that matters.

So the other night I wanted chocolate cake…but absolutely did not have the gumption to make it from scratch because you know it takes a whole 3 minutes longer than just pouring the cake mix into the bowl does!However when you have a cake mix screaming at you from the pantry to make you,you go with that option!

So I did. And like a bad little girl after the batter was all mixed up and in the oven I licked the bowl(yes yes I know raw egg and all)I noticed it tasted a little well umm stale. Not bad but a little stale. I checked the expiration date. UMMMM January of 2006!

The cake batter was not just a few months or even a year but 6 years past it’s expiration date.

So I did what any good baker would do. When it came out of the oven I taste tested it. Putting my own life on the line…ummm it tasted fine. Then Aaron came home from school and he had some saying how good it was. Then B came upstairs and he attacked it. Then I left to run errands after dinner was done and came back and the cake was well it was gone!

I waited and watched silently praying no one would keel over from botulism and no one did. So I did what any food housewife/mother would do and kept my mouth shut….

until the next morning when I couldn’t contain my giggles any longer and shared with them the age of the cake mix.

In other news I took it upon myself to go through aunt Nancy’s pantry to look at other boxed mixes and check their expiration dates. Let’s just say that 6 years past was not the oldest I found. In her defense she likes to bake from scratch like I do so boxed mixes rarely get used around here.

********************

On the homeschool front have any of you seen this on TUMBLR?

HomeschoolingRyanGosling

I would have to say my favorite one is the one about being in pajamas all day because Lord knows as a homeschool mom we’ve all been there. What homeschool mom though would not love having Ryan whispering sweet homeschool nothings into their ear?It is absolutely a homeschool mom’s fantasy. Or maybe it’s just mine…..

 

HAPPY FRIDAY!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on February 3, 2012, in Cooking/Baking, homeschool, Homeschooling, The Frat House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This is why I don’t keep box mixes in the house. I would make them, way past their expiration date…and then eat them.

  2. Ah I saw that you commented and went to write you back and its gone 😦 Hope it gets fixed soon! I havn’t been getting my updates from you either. Maybe there is something wrong with my stuff!
    And I would love Ryan to come whisper sweet nothings in my ear all day long, as long as his shirt was off! 🙂

  3. Like a good wine, chocolate cake ages well with time – or something like that, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

