Conversation with my bonus child DeDe

We were getting ready to leave for church on Sunday when DeDe (who is 6) informs me:

“Wendy if you have a baby boy I’m going to call it Humprheys.”

Me: “Humphreys huh????are you still gonna call it Humphreys if it’s a girl? I think that would be a cool nickname for a girl.”

DeDe: “No if it’s a girl I’m gonna call it Kate.”

Me: “Kate?But if it’s a girl we’re naming it Adrienne Danielle.”

DeDe: “I don’t care if it’s a baby girl I’m still gonna call her Kate. Well if it’s a WHITE baby girl that is.”

I started to walk away till her last sentence full hit me.

“Wait what do you mean if it’s a WHITE baby girl?What other color baby would I have?”

DeDe:”Well you never know you might have a brown baby girl.”(To which I honestly thought she’d say like orange or purple.)

Heard from the downstairs bathroom

Brandon,”If she has a brown baby girl she has some questions to answer!”

Ah the innocence of being a 6 year old.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Kids Randomness, Pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Hilarious. Kids are so cute in their honesty!

  2. HILARIOUS!!! Reminds me of the time I had two 10 month old foster babies. One hispanic and one white and got questioned by a man in a store about how dark my husband was.

  3. And if you do have a brown baby, I totally want to hear THAT explanation…lol

  4. That is too funny – oh kids…

Leave a Reply

