Growing up,when my folks and I would visit Everett mom would always point towards the water(which you could never see from where we were at) towards Mulkiteo and comment,”That’s where your dad and I used to go watch the sub races.”

Photobucket

If we were at my grandparent’s house on Hood Canal I would grab Grandpa’s binocluars and sit in the living room window asking if they thought the “submarine races” might be happening. I would sit there for hours hoping to catch a glimpse,and missing my parents “I’ve got a secret” exchanges until one day I realized….

“Hey dad you were on a sub right?Well they go under water so how on EARTH do you watch the submarine races?!?”

At this point I’m sure my dad probably told me something like,”You have to look really really hard.”That totally sound like something he would say just to tease his daughter.

I’ll admit it…it took me years to figure out that “watching the submarine races” had been my parent’s code as young adults for,

Mulkiteo beach is where we used to park.” Which of course required a whole nother explanation. I’m pretty sure one of them probably should’ve just smacked me over the head and said,”Yo Wendy this is where we used to make out.”

Turns out I’m not the only gullible one in our family. To this day my 93 year old grandmother still believes that my mom and dad were down at Mulkiteo watching the submarine races.Hey At least I come by it honest!

So I took the kids down to Mulkiteo beach so they could at least SEE the ferry and the sound and smell the smell of it all. Which always brings me back to home. I flat out told them,”This is where your grandparents used to come to make out.But they called it watching submarine races.”

To which my way further smarter children then I ever was asked,”Um mom how could you see the submarines if they’re under water?

Yeah Yeah Yeah….Kids these days.At least I got to share with them one of my favorite places on Earth.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on February 18, 2012, in My randomness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

