So as you all know we’ve been house hunting. I remember house hunting with my parents as a child and in comparison I have to give props to all my kids because they have not once said,”Are we done yet?” I think they’re just as excited as we are to move into the next phase of our lives.

I need this positivity right now in my life because it seems like renters and management companies here in this town are not so well “large family” friendly.

We found the perfect 4 bedroom house the other day out in the country,plenty of room,and even had a fruit tree or two. When I called the management company I ended up having the following conversation,

“Hello we’re interested in the house up on Forker,I’m wondering if there’s a time we could see it and fill out an app?”

“Do you have a dog?” Not asked nicely by the way..the lady even answered Hello rudely.

“No,no dog ma’am.” At this point I’m thinking I will not tell her I’m pregnant.

“Well how many of there are you?”

Oh boy….I HAVE to answer this one…So I tell her there are me and my boyfriend and 6 ki….before I could even get the word kids out she responds,

“Oh no no no that won’t work. Nope that won’t work that house is only meant for 2 adults and MAYBE one child no way no way.”

“Umm ok well thank you.”

“Yup no way that would work this house isn’t for you no way…” (as if I didn’t hear her the first time.) I hung up and scratched my head. a 4 bedroom house for 3 people at the most? I get if she didn’t want to rent to a big family but did she have to be so rude about it?

The thing is we had looked through all the windows,walked the property and the house was plenty big for all of us. Although if that’s how the landlady was going to be I wouldn’t want to rent from her anyways.

We’ve had numerous calls out to another house all week long. They insist you drive by the property first to make sure it will work for you. We’ve made two phone calls from right outside the property.

We’re supposed to look at another house on Tuesday IF the manager gets back to us about whether or not the current tenants will ok a walk through.Which I get..I don’t know if I’d want someone coming to walk through my house while I still lived there,but I haven’t heard back yet.

I have to keep reminding myself…that which does not kill me makes me stronger….I know the perfect house is out there for us somewhere. I’m just soooo ready to find it and be able to start blogging about more interesting stuff.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on February 26, 2012, in My randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good luck! We’ve done lots of house hunting with all of our moves. It’s never fun.

  2. Wow. I agree with Michaela Mitchell about the fair housing violation. Don’t let the negative part of the search get you down, it is an exciting time and you will find a great house for your awesome family. Oh, but please make sure you have better internet then where you currently are, ok? I miss you over in my part of the blogosphere. 🙂

  3. Even though you definitely don’t need to rent from that chick, I still think it’s a potential fair housing violation…she heard how many kids and denied you…that’s discrimination, and the only way it stops is if it gets reported…

  4. –you will find the “perfect” house.

    You will walk in and exclaim, “YES! this is the one!”

    Good luck.

    Xx

Leave a Reply

