I’m So Not Cut Out To Be a Public School Parent

***Disclaimer – This post does not take either side on the whole homeschool/public school debate. It simply shares my feelings on the subject of being a parent of public school kids.****

 

After this week I have come to the conclusion of two things:

1: I am SO not cut out to be a public school mom

2:I may be a bit of a “control freak”

 

As I mentioned in an earlier post this week it’s Science Experiment week at the bonus girls’ school which means the older grades do a science project than display it.Oh wait didn’t we call those Science Fairs back in the day?Only difference?It’s not a competition like it used to be when we were in school because “GASP” God forbid we push our children to try to healthily compete with other kids.(Don’t even get me started on sports that give trophies to EVERYONE.)

On top of that I’m still adjusting to the whole two kids go to school and learn all day and then come back and most likely only tell me a fraction of what they did in school that day.It is such a weird concept to me not being there constantly while they’re learning so I know EXACTLY what they’re learning.

After homeschooling for 7 years this is a totally new realm and idea to me. I’m used to being the one making the lesson plans and executing the lesson plans. if my kids struggle with something I can take the time to go over a subject again.I rarely have to “consult” with anyone else to figure out what my kids are learning.

So there had definitely been some miss-communication this week between the school,myself, and the kids.Ack just throwing that third person into the whole thing totally throws me off.

Thank God for email.One of the teachers and me have emailed back and forth numerous times to make sure we’re on the same page. The teacher has graciously taken his time to answer any questions and I have done the same for him. I LOVE both of the girls’ teachers they are very lucky to have them. They both really care about their students and education.

Seriously though,the only people I have communicated with this week has been the school and rental places.

Then I got a letter from the school saying it’s parent/teacher conferences soon. We get to make our own appointments…through the internet. Seriously I can barely navigate this blog…let alone setting up an appointment online.

I know there are some people out there that say being a homeschool mom would be hard or they would never have enough patience.

I on the other hand say being a public school mom is hard and I’m not sure I have the patience to be one.

I have always respected teachers in any aspect and give them props.

This week though I definitely give the props to the public school parents out there who make all the extra effort out there as well!

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on March 3, 2012, in homeschool, Homeschooling, My randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. After having my oldest two in private school through 8th grade and public high school (which worked well for them) and having some experience with public school (even though they REALLY tried hard with my younger kids), I FULLY agree with you. UNLESS, the kid is RAD and being VERY RAD – LOL. But, then public school doesn’t work well either. I wish I had homeschooled my older kids!!!

    • Part of what started me homeschooling was the fact I was doing the same amount of teaching at home if not more than Nathaniel’s Kindergarten teacher did at school. She sent home sooo much homework I got to the point of…he if I just did this during the day in the afternoon I could actually play with my kid.

  2. We’ll be going to two girls in the public school this next school year. It will be interesting to see how things go.

Leave a Reply

