Shock and Awe

We made it out of the house yesterday before 8 am. That is getting the two bonus girls off to ready and off to school(Science project in hand),me showered, and the 4 others even managed to get kitty litter and dishes done before we hit the road for another day of house hunting.

As a reward of getting everyone “Up and At’Em Adam Ant…” Don’t ask it’s how my dad used to wake me up every morning before he left for work even when I was an evil teenage,I swung by the coffee stand.Haha swung by is a relatively loose term as seeing the closest coffee stand from where we live now is at least 10 miles away.

Anyways I put my order in as the overly,too highly caffeinated,cute as a button barista asked me if I was getting ready to drop off for school…

“No I just dropped off two and I homeschool the rest,” I informed her.She leaned outside of her stand and peered into the car(thank God I had just had Nathaniel bulldoze it out.” and you could see her quickly doing the math.

“Umm so 4 kids and 2 at school…you have 6 KIDS????” I watched as her already dilated pupils, probably from the amount of coffee she is required to drink stay perky,grew even wider.

“Yes and one on the way,” I answered just to add to her morning jolt.

“7???That’s 7??? WOW people just don’t do that anymore…and you look so put together,” She marveled.(For the record I was having the WORST hair day I have had in a LONG time.)

“And you homeschool some of them?” She again repeated.

“Yes.”

“Wow,that’s just awesome,”she replied. Then she handed me my coffee leaned further out of her window and told the kids,

“Bye kiddos have a good day.”

The kiddos all replied the same back to her and I drove off.

I’m not gonna lie…it’s kind of fun to watch people’s reactions…at least this one was a positive one.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on March 6, 2012, in homeschool and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Yay! I bet it made your day:)

  2. I just loooove non-judgemental people :)))

    I don’t have time for the rest. Xx

  3. Hah, that’s too cute. That would have been exactly my response as well. Yesterday, we were headed back from the airport and there was a dad corralling his 4 kids by himself and I thought THAT was amazing

  4. Oh I WISH I had it as together as you do!!! Children who will do school, obey, listen….

    • Oh Denise you’re the only blogger who has BEEN to my house…you know better than that. But the kiddos have been requesting a play date with Mercy lol. I need to come see you since you came to see us last time!

Leave a Reply

