Pre Teen Angst

SIGH……OYYYY….. anyone wanna drive over here and meet me for coffee?Oh wait I don’t even know if I’d HAVE time for coffee at this point.Someone want to drive on over and help me pack?

I feel like I have been kicked in the groin.No it’s not round ligament pains,it’s called a son who turns 13 in less than a month. You know my wonderful son who has stepped up and helped babysit and that I’ve been singing his praises all month?Yeah someone tell me where he went and who replaced him with my obviously burnt out,ready to move,time for some more independence son? Oh and when you find him please nicely return him to me.

And the sad thing is?WE’RE SO CLOSE TO MOVING!!!! There’s an actual light at the end of the tunnel! I mean we can all see it like a big ol train coming out of the tunnel.

The sadder thing? He has inherited his mommy’s talent for babbling incoherently when he’s upset about something such as,

“What does it matter if I take a break with the other kids and watch T.V. for awhile during the day it has nothing to do with me NOT getting my school work done. I just don’t get my school work done.”

Ummm no dude…it has EVERYTHING with getting your school work done….EVERYTHING!!!!

The thing is?Part of his school work is supposed to be done at night because it involves charting the night sky! HE’S the one that wanted to do more science. So here he is arguing and yelling at me that he IS doing it without crying(while tears roll down his cheeks.)And that he hasn’t been arguing with me for the last two days while I stand there calmly saying,

“You need to stop and just do your work…that’s now 3 days of no computer and no video games.”  And while he didn’t stop I got my way up to a whole week no video games or computer…which by the way you would think for an almost teenage boy was the death penalty.Then I warned him if he didn’t stop trying to argue I was just going to jump to straight weeks.

Anyone remember this post where I referenced the Roseanne scene where Roseanne keeps putting up her fingers for each week Becky was grounded because her daughter would just not shut up? Umm yeah….my fingers got up to 7 weeks. 7 WEEKS no video games or computer. My son will turn 13 half way through the time he can even touch a computer or video game again…well except for school work. Oh the irony!

SIGH….and then he uttered the words I knew he would one of these days when he got mad enough….

” You know right now I really wish I lived with dad.”

SUCKERPUNCH (no, not the extremely insane,awesome movie.) RIGHT IN THE GROIN.

I’m pretty sure at some point with my parents I uttered some pretty similar words,

“I wish I lived with my birth parents.”

But I stood my ground and didn’t even bat an eyelash at his response. I knew that phrase would come to me eventually.

20 minutes later and I finally walked away told him he had to be in bed in 5 minutes and I was NOT listening to the yelling anymore. If there was anymore yelling he would just add more weeks…

And now in the aftermath of the morning I have big ol bags under my eyes and not enough coffee in the world to get me through today.

SIGH…anyone want an almost teenage son?

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Kids Randomness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This made me smile, I have a 14 year old….almost 13 was the worst. We had a time of tensions and attitude, then after a few months he got better. I think there is a hormone surge at that age and they kind of loose there mind. Hopefully it will not last long. Every one told my teenage horror stories….no horrors, at all just some attitude now and then. I have also wanted to my teenage boy away at times.LOL

    • I’m sure a lot of this has to do with the situation we’re living in. There has only been 2 outbursts like this in the last 4 years and they have both happened while living in the frat house….next week our own house.

  2. Yup. Sounds like my preteen daughter.

  3. So you’re telling me this is what I have to look forward to? Greeeeeeat…

  4. Fish Out of Water

    I have an almost 16 yr. old daughter. I know that this will not do much for you now, but I promise it gets better. The same switch that flips and makes them crazy, hormonal, ranty, panty, sometimes nasty little snots flips again. On the other side is something great. I’m just now starting to have it with my girl. I never thought I’d get to the other side, but I have and it’s so nice. Hang in there. I know it’s not easy.

  5. Oh how tough! Hugs to you. I wish I lived right down the street because if I did I would whip up some pumpkin muffins and be standing on your door step with a plate of them and some coffee ready to help you pack.
    Once you get settled into you new house and everyone gets some personal space it will be better.

    • I know it will be sooo much better I can hardly stand it!!!! I’m so tired of all of us being packed into this house like sardines. I know it’s been tough on everyone but man! And oh my goodness pumpkin muffins sound amazing especially today since it’s snowing! I may have to whip some up as well!

Leave a Reply

