Wait… you’re not 21?

It’s Thursday, or at least I think 2:30 am constitutes Thursday morning. I thought I would make it a point this week to link up with Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop since I haven’t in a while. Besides it was fun trying to pick which one to write about and brought back some memories I had totally forgotten about!

2.) Write about a time you pretended to be someone you aren’t.

I’m a pretty straight forward girl and am who I am. However this one time I guess I was pretending to be someone else without even realizing it!

It was the Christmastime after I moved back to Spokane after high school and I was taking the whole 45 minute flight from Spokane to Seattle to be with family. I was 18 and really just looking forward to going home. I took my seat and got situated before the guy who had the window seat next to me showed up.

We exchanged hellos and before I knew it we were chatting about jobs and what not. My mom had always raised me to be nice to everyone and really I didn’t think too much about it. He worked in the world of social work and since that had been part of my life growing up in Spokane we were exchanging names and different children homes we knew of.(Him because of his work,me because of my brother.) We talked about our plans for our vacation and honestly I was just enjoying the conversation in my honestly 18 year old naive way.

Then the drink cart came by and he offered to buy me a drink.I broke the news to him that I was only 18 and didn’t drink. A look of terror and embarrassment crossed his face as he quickly purchased his drink and then spent the rest of the 15 minute flight remaining looking out the window. He never said another word to me.

I guess he thought I was older than I really was. Oh well at least it wasted a good portion of the flight!

Mama’s Losin’ It

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Mama Kat's Writing Workshop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That happened to me more that once. I was on my own at 15 and looked and acted very mature….it actually got me into also of situations that were uncomfortable and down right dangerous. Very Well written!

  2. Paula Kiger (Big Green Pen)

    Great story!!! I guess his motives were pretty clear given his actions after he learned your age!

Leave a Reply

