Rebuilding after a year

About a year ago over Easter Weekend(Easter was later last year.) I was packing up my family for the move of our lifetime back to Washington State. I was broken hearted,exhausted,and not sure where I stood on a lot of things. I had been lied to.People I trusted turned out to be fakes,and my Faith had been called into question. Where I have never professed to be a perfect Christian to be slapped in the face over minute details really sent me into a tailspin. These people that I had called my friends…even my family, turned out to be nothing more than a cult if you will.

To say I was one step away from finally losing what was left of my mind is truly no understatement. I spent a week weighing my options. Praying over what was best for me and my kids,because even my parenting had been under attack. I know I am not your typical mainstream parent,but because of this I have AMAZINGLY AWESOME kids. Kids who GET IT,kids who care with a compassion that shocks most people.Kids who know how to enjoy life.

Finally after a conversation with my own dad I realized a prayer I had been crying out for,for over the last couple of years had finally been answered.My dad simply told me,

“Arizona has nothing left to offer you.” 7 words that finally gave me the ok to take my kids back HOME.

Yes my parents live in Arizona and after crying about leaving them,because let’s face it they’re not getting any younger(Sorry I still love you.) My dad assured me that yes it was ok.I was not to put my life on hold for them,I was to live MY life.

The last year has been an amazing journey full of struggles and blessings. Full of surprises I could never have even dreamt of. I am so thankful for it all.

And now here we sit,packing up boxes once again over Easter weekend.Not to leave Washington but to leave the frat house and focus on having our own house only for our family.To have room for all of us to live comfortably,to enjoy summer barbecues in the backyard,to build memories for the next year of love and laughter.

Maybe it’s the pregnancy hormones,or maybe it’s just my regular girly hormones….

I am so thankful for the past year and what it has taught me.

Here’s to the next year that can only bring bigger and better things.

 

Recovery

She walks high

She walks proud

No one could ever tell…

She used to be a million little pieces

Wendy Bartlett

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on April 7, 2012, in My randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Who was the awesome person who was waiting with open arms for you and the kids when you got to Washington? lol Actually, I was just thinking the other day of how much your life has changed in the past year. And you DO have wonderful kids that it has been totally my pleasure to finally meet and be a part of their lives. Can’t wait to see what the next year(s) have in store for you!!! Love you, cuz!

    • Oh dear if I have another year like this last one I MAY finally lose it 🙂 You have know idea how grateful I was for you and Richard taking us in so we could start afresh! I can’t wait for you to come visit for so you can see the house!Love you so very much and miss you!

  2. Good luck and I’m proud of you for all you’ve done so far. It takes courage to change your life, you’ve got it.

  3. Great post! And I wish you all the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

