A Place to Call Home

So if I would’ve known posting about An Hour in A Day yesterday would’ve jinxed me, I probably would’ve waited till next week to join! I should’ve known when I was on the phone before 9 am talking with the Bestie and making yet more appointments.

Even though it was a busy day it was definitely one of my favorite days ever! We started back at school for the homeschoolers and I must say they were all eager about it. On top of that when B came home from work he had a present for all of us!!!! Starter plants of all variations for our raised garden beds as well as a few seeds. If all goes well we will have a nice assortment of fruit and veggies.

This was also the perfect teaching opportunity for the kiddos as we realized the beds all needed weeding. They grumbled a bit at first until I reminded them of the story of The Little Red Hen and how no one would help her get the grain ready for the bread and then when the bread was ready everyone was willing to help her eat it and she told them no because no one had helped. This was one of my favorite stories as a child and the funny thing I remember thinking (as my mom read the story in a very scratchy chicken voice for the momma hen) was this poor hen is obviously a single mom and no one is willing to help her.(Oh the irony)

Needless to say though in the afternoon the kiddos all pitched in and helped with the garden beds.

Then we prepared for our first dinner guests here at Casa La Crazy! One of my favorite cousins(aka the one I woke up at 3 am to make her precious cinnamon rolls) and her hubby came to spend a couple of hours with us. My kids have not seen her since September so they were all very excited.

Lane had asked if he could make some muffins for dinner so I told him yes. We sat down and opened up the cookbook and decided he needed to double the recipe.So I had him convert the measurements as he says,

“I thought you said I only had to do one math lesson today.” and “Oh so this is where I Finally use fractions.”

He made Pear Gingerbread muffins and they were GOOD. He did it all by himself.

 

While he was making them he started laughing and said,”I feel sorry for anyone who has wipe down ta….” and then stopped mid sentence as he realized it was HIS chore and then said,”guess I should be a bit more careful.” I think it’s safe to say he’s been bitten by the baking bug.

The kids’ aunt and uncle arrived as I was making dinner and it was a free for all in the backyard.

Uncle Richard TRYING to look like he was in charge…we all know though who held the cards…err pool noodle in this case though.

A little cuddle time with daddy in the midst of chaos is sometimes a very good thing.

We were even joined by our favorite backyard free range pets.

Can you see the bunny?These guys are the source of joy by kids of all ages(Ahem mainly me) every time they hop on out to join us.

Dinner was a huge success even if I did burn off what looks lke the top 3 layers of skin from my hand while making it…I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. If I burn myself while cooking or baking it means it’s going to be good.The weather was nice enough that the kids even got to eat outside.

 

It was the perfect end to a perfect day! The best part of it all was it happened at OUR HOUSE. We finally have a place to call HOME and we couldn’t be happier. We are constantly thanking God for our new place.It was a long hard house hunt but we found it and it fits us perfectly.

Thank you Aunt Teri and Uncle Richard for helping put a perfect end to a perfectly busy and happily content day we love you!

Heck she even did some of my dishes for me!!!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on April 25, 2012, in Casa La Crazy, Cooking/Baking, Homeschooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looks like a lot of fin so sorry to hear about your hand…I just hate burns. That math lesson probably thought more than 20 book lessons🙂

  2. You just HAD to put that picture of me up there, didn’t you? 🙂
    We had a wonderful time – we think the house is great and the kids will really enjoy the yard. Thanks again for all you do and give all the kids hugs and kisses (ok, you can give Brandon a hug from me, too) lol.
    I will see you in a few months – hopefully September. Love you, cuz!

    • I LOVE that pic of you and Richard!!! I will give all the kids lots of love,then I’ll give Brandon a big ol kiss and tell him it’s from you and watch him freak out because I like tormenting him like that!!!

  3. So do I!!!! I’m so glad we’re having nightly family dinners

  4. Great Photos! I adore family time❤ Xx

Leave a Reply

