What a Spouse Should Do During Pregancy And Labor

Stasha’s husband picked out this week’s Listicles…which I absolutely adore. Gotta love a supportive husband!He picked 10 things a husband should do which probably should’ve been retitled…”If Your Husband Takes The Garbage Out He Is Totally Super Man.” Cough Cough…Ahem

And well since I’m pregnant…oh yeah I’m pregnant in case you’ve missed that news flash,I thought I would do a list of 10 things all spouses should do during pregnancy and labor. Ya know in case anyone else needs to give their Significant Other a little bathroom time reading.

10 Things Your Spouse/Significant Other Should Do During Your Pregnancy and Labor

Pregnancy

1. Go out and buy the damn test when she is 2 weeks late and very obviously living in a state of denial.Even if she says things like,”No way can I be pregnant…I’m just late,I’m never on time anyways.” Then gently push her into the bathroom and stand guard at the door till she pees on that stick.(Ok the first part he did…the second part he probably should’ve done.)

2. When the test comes out positive and she goes into the state of “I’m almost 35 I can’t be pregnant…oh god the youngest and this baby would be 7 years apart…umm we’re not married….my dad is going to kill me.” Sit there and hold her and brush her hair back and tell her everything is going to be ok….even if you yourself  are freaking out on the inside.(Again big points on B’s part)

3.When she says she’s tired even though she’s only been up from a full night’s sleep for 2 hours encourage her to go take a nap.

4. If you cook her dinner and she eats it and tells you how good it was(which it totally was.),but then mentions how she’s craving Mc Donald’s fries and a chicken sandwich.Silently pull out a 5 and tell her to go get some.(I’m tellin ya B should be nominated for SaintHood.)

5.Let he throw a little Tupperware once in awhile,as long as she’s not aiming it at you,if she’s really feeling that exhausted/agitated/emotional/hormonal,better the Tupperware being tossed than the good dishes.

6. Support her when she is going through some of the scariest testing in her life for the baby. Even if you hadn’t walked down that road with her before,hold her,let her cry,but make sure she does what she needs to do.(Again …. he’s kinda awesome that way.)

Labor

7. When she says she wants a homebirth…listen to her. She probably has some pretty good reasons to why she doesn’t want to be locked away in a hospital for 24 hours…like she’ll really miss all 6 of her other kids,and she wants the whole thing to be for the whole family.

8. During my contractions will not be the time to crack jokes. It WILL be the time to let me squeeze the everliving daylights out of any of your body parts that I wish though…

9.Do not sit there and tell me “You can do it honey..” Listen I love you and I know you’re going to be way supportive but telling me I can do something that is honestly going to happen whether I do anything or not, is kind of like telling a 2 year old no…it’s most likely going to end up in me crying and screaming,”I KNOW I can do it…I just don’t want to anymore!” (This one my dear is a big heads up for you..don’t say I didn’t warn you.)

10. Just keep being as awesome and as supportive as you’ve been this whole pregnancy. You’ve been great so far now is NOT the time to screw it up! Seriously,I may not say it a whole lot but I appreciate it and can’t wait to share Miss Adrienne with you!

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Monday Listicles, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. He sounds awesome:) You’re a lucky girl!

  2. Awe I love your list! You guys are so perfect for each other!

  3. Having a supportive significant other makes the experience so much better. Like you though, I would totally freak out if I found out I was pregnant. Makes me chuckle thinking about having decided I was perfectly happy with one and you have a few more than that. The birthing part was actually the easiest part.🙂 Loving your list! And your support❤

    • I LOVE having babies and always felt somehow i wasn’t done but yes I totally went “batcrap crazy” when i found out I was pregnant with this one. I totally remember saying the things I posted…I felt like a 15 year old teenager. Totally loving your blog as well my dear! You were on my heart a lot yesterday.

  4. .LOL these are great!! I really love it🙂 You are blessed with a good man!

  5. Love it! Any man who would send me to Mc D’s guilt free is a Saint. I am excited you are going for home birth!!!

    • I still don’t know if the homebirth will happen or not😦 That’s the only thing on the list that is well still a no at this point but yea everything else he has done or is willing to do so it’s all good in my book.

  6. Great list! I love it! One day I think I might have to pass this list along to my hubby!

  7. Sounds like you’ve got a great guy! Good luck with the med free birth. Sorry, but I’m quite the opposite. I can get drugs… Where do I sign up?

  8. Best of luck. It sounds like you have a good partner by your side. I remember when I was at the hospital in labor with our oldest – my husband was on the phone checking his fantasy football scores from the day before. I turned into a devil women at that point.

  9. sisterhoodofthesensiblemoms

    Great list of wise words. Have you printed this out and posted it on the refrigerator?😉 Ellen

    • if I didn’t know he read my blog everyday then I totally would!Of course I’m sure he’ll come back with…”squeeze whatever part you want to huh?” out of the whole thing THAT’S the one he’ll pick up on…snicker

  10. Well we’re still scheduled to be at the hospital…I keep praying though something will change. Although this will be my first non medicated delivery.

  11. He sounds like a pretty awesome guy! I’m impressed you are going for a home birth. I went natural with my last three babies, but I did it in a hospital. For some reason I was too chicken to do it at home. I hope it goes well and is a wonderful experience for all of you!

Leave a Reply

