Opening Our Hearts through Adoption

In case you’ve missed the oh so subtle hinting on here as well as on the ever so addicting Facebook…let me fill you in:

AHEM Attention Attention It’s MY BIRTHDAY WEEK!!!!!

OH WAIT it’s also Kenna’s Birthday week! But that’s a post for maybe tomorrow…on our real birthday.

Oh and T minus one day until we get to go feed tigers….real striped,growling,man eating,tigers.

sounds like the perfect birthday right?

I thought you’d agree.

But this post is not so much about how we’re going to celebrate our Birthday as much as it is a reflection post. No not of the amazing person it has taken me almost 35 years to become,but of my beginnings.

This is my earliest birth picture:

Untitled

This is on the first day my mom and dad got to finally hold me and dare to believe that their dreams of becoming a parent were coming true…finally.

I was 4 weeks old in this picture and from what I’ve been told about that day they had 12 hours(or maybe it was 8) to decide if they wanted to adopt me or not. They drove down to the adoption agency and picked me up and took me back to a hotel where they promptly counted all my fingers and toes. Amazingly 35 years later I still have all 20 of them.

My parents waited 10 years for me. 10 years to become parents.

Untitled

Obviously they made the right choice because this is me a week later at our house.

I do not know my birth mother or my birth family. Adoptions were much more closed int he late 70’s. I do know however I was the 7th child my birthmom had, and that my birthmom must’ve had one of the biggest hearts ever.

I have held one of my own babies shortly after giving birth knowing I would not get to see them grow into the person they were meant to be. I know the pain and the heartache. My birthmom willingly made this choice because she knew she couldn’t provide me with everything needed. She willingly made the decision to give me to a family that could provide me with the essentials a baby needs,as well as all the love.

I cannot even imagine.

And I cannot even imagine waiting 10 years waiting to fulfill my dreams of becoming a parent.

We all know if there’s only one thing I got from my birthmom it was her gift of fertility.

To wait 10 years…would kill me.

For my parents to be willing to open up their homes to a baby that was not biologically theirs. That takes a pretty huge heart as well.

To walk through the fear that for the first 12 months my birthmom could change her mind at anytime and ask for me back must have been heart wrenching.

Thank you for not changing your mind because as hard as your decision had to have been, you made the right one.

35 years ago you not only made the right choice for yourself but you made the right choice for your birth daughter as well as a couple that had waited far to long to become the parents they knew they were meant to be.

Thank you to both sets of parents for being so unselfish.

To my birthmom  who so unselfishly gave me up

and to my parents who so unselfishly and lovingly took in a baby who may not have been biologically theirs,but never felt the difference a day in her life.

Thank You and Happy Birthday to all of you as well.

 

 

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. What a sweet post. Two of my siblings became my siblings through adoption. I remember with my sister those few hours my parents were given to decide whether or not to adopt her. It was crazy. Then I remember the awesome shopping trip for everything baby because they didn’t have any baby stuff. Happy birthday to you!

  2. This is a great story and a beautiful tribute to both your parents and your birth parents.

    Happy Birthday!!

  3. Awwww….. what a neat story!

  4. I have a lump in my throat. Two of our three children are adopted. We got our daughter when she was five weeks. I hope she at 35 feels the way you do. I’m going to print this blog post for encouragement whenever I feel a bit unsure about things. Have a happy, happy birthday week. Thank you for the gift of this post.

    • WOW your comment made my day…seriously. Adoption is not always easy. I’m so glad I could offer you a bit of encouragement. Thank you for being so unselfish to open your heart to such a wonderful gift!.

  5. Praise the Lord for you being born!! I hope your birthday week is a blast! I love your tribute to both sets of parents…so cool that you can be there and see how unselfish both were and are still…so cool. Thank you SO much for your words of encouragement…Helps me so much to have those near me who understand. Blessing and have fun with the tigers.🙂

    • Thanks Dionne! I am so enjoying getting to know you through your blog. My parents are definitely two of the most unselfish people I have ever met they are always willing to help out a friend. I pray that my birthmom even years later is met with a comfort of peace when she thinks about my adoption because I got the best home a girl could ask for.

  6. Ah this post gave me goosebumps – so beautiful.

    Have a wonderful tiger feeding day with Kenna! I expect pictures. 🙂

  7. Sandi Bartlett

    Love you…..thank you, Wendy! I am an emotional wreck right now anyway, and then you had to write something so beautiful…..yes, I got teary-eyed and then proceeded to cry thinking about Toby. I remember that day like it was yesterday. Not sleeping because we didn’t have an alarm clock at the motel and we didn’t want to sleep through. Sitting at breakfast talking about how our life was going to change so very much. That was always the greatest thing that ever happened to us! You were suh a beautiful baby and we can’t believe you are 35 years old already! We love you, Boo…..may you and Kenna have a beautiful birthay tomorrow.

    • awwww shucks mommy…I’m glad you enjoyed the post and I’m glad Toby is doing a bit better. Enjoy your time with Nathaniel while he’s down there I’m sure he will bring back memories of me as a teenager…lucky you!

  8. Congrats on still have all your toes and fingers! Lol! No seriously, happy birthday week! Enjoy the tigers, just don’t let them enjoy you.

    • I almost lost both my feet once…which would’ve resulted in less toes I guess but phewww I survived. I will have to remember not to wear my bacon scented perfume tomorrow…ok even I can’t type that without wanting to vomit. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Lol, hey, i almost chopped off my foot during summer camp, chopping wood. I did slice off a piece of my ankle. Meh!
        I like passing by, no need to thank me.😉

Leave a Reply

