At Least She Had a Valid Reason…

I’m back from my week long break. Totally ready to start blogging again and full of new ideas. Nathaniel made it home from his trip to visit my parents in Arizona and got a much deserved vacation.Not even 24 hours later though my 4 kiddos left for a week at their dads. The day they come back the bonus girls are leaving to go camping with their grandma on the other side.

Being a blended family can be tough. In fact that was part of the reason for my break last week. To step back and really see how I can make things work in a more unified way in our little blended family. To accept the things we could change and to step back from the things we could not.WHOA big challenge for a total… control… freak…

But in the end does it really matter?What matters is that we as a family love and accept each other,as well as are willing to work together.

One of the struggles we had dealt with for the last couple of weeks was the Revenge of the Midnight Snacker in the household.

When Holly was 2-3 years old I had a terrible time with her sneaking food. Well in the last couple weeks I had noticed that food was being snuck again. Of course I knew Holly was the culprit but I also figured out we had another culprit who had joined in on the midnight tirades.It took me awhile to figure out but finally by my awesome powers of deduction(ahem Holly being nowhere NEAR the house and a box of cereal being left open and half empty…I’m tellin ya I should be a detective I’m THAT good.)I figured out Dee had joined in the festivities as well.

Punishments and talks included both girls.

Then Friday as I cam downstairs and the kids were making their lunches Dee looked me straight in the eye and confessed,

“Wendy I got into the Nutella last night.”

The honesty and straight forwardness of it all stunned me for a second.One of the lessons we’ve been working on is to owning up to your mistakes even though you know their may be a punishment.

After asking her to repeat herself I then thanked her for being so honest and then told her there would still be a punishment.I also told her she needed to follow me and tell her dad what she had just shared with me. We walked into our bedroom and she told her dad exactly what she had told me.

He sat there stunned for a moment, same as me, before asking,

“Why did you get into the Nutella we’ve told you not to get into the food.”

She stood silent for a moment trying to keep her composure before finally starting to cry and said,

“BUT DAD….it’s CHOCOLATE!”

At this point I was so glad I was standing behind her and hoped B would keep his composure as well as I tried to keep from busting out laughing.In fact it was so hard to keep my composure that I had to excuse her back downstairs while we “figured out her punishment.” so both B and I could let the laughs out…

I mean honestly what girl can argue with that she had a very valid reason…

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Casa La Crazy, Kids Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh man, it is a good thing I don’t live at your house. I sneak Canadian chocolates called Smarties all the time – day or night. They are small like M&Ms and are just too good to not snack on.

    Good for her owning up to the sneaking. 🙂

  2. SO funny, what a good SWEET heart she has. Praying for you as you navigate your family.

  3. that is about the best argument I have ever heard – smart and honest – a good combo

  4. Ha ha ha ha! Now I am curious, what did her punishment end up being?

    • Well the first part was that since she already had her nutella the night before she did not get one for lunch only pb and j,then she had to write out I WILL NOT SNEAK FOOD 10 times…we told her next time there would be more sentences and yet another punishment on top of that.Hopefully this worked though.She is already on restricted bedtime for being caught once.

Leave a Reply

