When It’s Time To Change…

First off let me say I may very well be forfeiting my chance at a shower this morning by blogging,but I don’t care. I miss all of you that much!

Autumn is in full swing here in the Inland Northwest.We’ve had days of wind and a few of rain and the temps have dropped nicely.The stores are carrying their pumpkin spice creamer and the hoodies have come out. It’s my favorite time of year.

There are other changes in the air as well here at Casa La Crazy.

Changes that I am noticing big time…..

My kids are growing up😦

How could this be you ask? Didn’t I just have a baby?Well yes but the growth spurts of not only Ms Squishy but the 6 others are very evident in this house.

In fact it is most noticeable in the oldest and the youngest…

It all started right after Adrienne was born. I thought Nathaniel was just tired from late night cryings from the baby,his voice was very drone like and sometimes even hard to understand. I would get after him about his “tone” and he would insist he wasn’t giving me a “tone”

It wasn’t until my mom arrived that it hit me. She made a comment about Nathaniel’s voice changing and it was then I realized, I had been after him on his “tone” when it was that nasty culprit, puberty, all along. I just looked at my mom slack jawed and said,” I feel like the worst mom in the world and I have to apologize.”

Hey in my defense he is my first born and he is A BOY so yeah I’ve never gone through this before. The only voice changing I’ve really been exposed to was Peter Brady and Nathaniel (thank God) is not screeching like Peter Brady did. Oh C’mon admit it you all remember this episode:

And yes…yes I did just post a Brady Bunch clip…and just like all those episodes that ended with a lesson learned and a big hearty hug I apologized to my son the next morning for being on him about his “tone” when it was really just nature taking it’s course.

While most kids might throw back a “I told you I didn’t have a tone.” (Lord knows I would’ve) Nathaniel accepted my apology and told me it was alright….how’s that for a Brady Bunch moment for ya?

Dear Lord where have the last 13 and a half years gone?He is now eye to eye with me and size 11 feet. I took him clothes shopping a couple weeks ago and we had to shop exclusively in the men’s section..GULP.But through it all he is still my happy stubborn first born son.
Untitled
Why Do They Have To Grow Up?

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on October 17, 2012, in Casa La Crazy, Kids Randomness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. mine are in their twenties and I am still asking that question

  2. Don’t worry. Pretty soon he’ll start smelling bad and irritating you because that’s what teenage boys do. Otherwise we’d never let them go!

  3. Oh dear – I have not even thought about the change. I was in tears when Cody lost his first baby tooth and the landscape of his mouth was forever changed with erupting adult teeth. ADULT teeth in my little boy. I find myself shaking my head at how quickly they grow up.

  4. I’m already noticing more moodiness in Tabitha, and she’s only (almost) 10. Another year or two and we may be pulling out our hair. I hit that change at 11, which means we only have another year! Ahhhhh!

  5. Oh man, I am not looking forward to the change! He is such a handsome nice boy (er… man?)

Leave a Reply

