Mary Did You Know…

I tend not to get very religious here on my blog. It is not because I am not, in fact I’m quite the opposite. It’s not because I’m afraid I’d offend anyone because umm let’s face it my name IS Twisted Domestic Goddess,that name alone implies I’m probably going to offend someone, somewhere, at sometime. It is not because I’m pushing God away either…it is usually because my relationship with God is so personal it’s hard for me to put into words. (Yes there are still some areas that STILL leave me speechless.)

However,last night,while holding my sweet baby in my arms I couldn’t help but shed a tear or two. I had the song Mary Did You Know playing through my head most of the night.

Our family has already done Christmas. Maybe that is a good thing it gave me time last night to reflect on the things I know,the things I was taught growing up,and just some quiet time between me and my God.

Nathaniel read the story of the first Christmas to us our morning before we unwrapped presents. Again I couldn’t help but tear up. Amazingly it was not so much because of Jesus being born.I teared up for Mary. Every time I have ever heard that story my mind and heart always goes to Mary.

This year when he read it I caught on to a part I guess I had always skipped. The part that reads that Mary was still only Joseph’s fiancee when they went back to Bethlehem and when Jesus was born.

There was no room at the inn. We all know this. But for a mother who is  pregnant with the Son of God,someone who would die for us but not first without numerous amazing events throughout his life,as well as not being married and having some still mark her for that,must have been a very emotional time for her.

Mary knew her son would go on to save the world,however many others didn’t. To others Mary just looked like a harlett,someone who herself had sinned.I can’t imaging holding my head up high through the stares and whispers. The courage it took for Mary.

And yet this year as well,my heart went out to Joesph for the first time ever. Mary wasn’t the only one who had to have endured the stares and whispers. These two had such an amazing faith in God.

Two unmarried young parents together in a stable,giving birth to the King who would save us all.

Mary holding the young babe just moments after birth,still covered in goo, and realizing at some point her child would leave this earth before her. It had to be both glorious and heart breaking at the same time.Did she weep with sadness as well as Joy. Did she know how much pain and suffering her son would have to endure just to bring the love of God to all of us?

As mothers it is our job to raise our children the best we can. To love them and be there for them through the good as well as the hard, heart wrenching bad times. Mary’s responsibility was ten fold.

Last night while holding my beautiful daughter I was reminded of all this once again.What heart wrenching times will my daughter as well as my other children have to endure. Will I be a good enough mother with the support I offer? Will I be a good enough example through the tough times to show them to keep their eyes towards God and to lean on him? I pray I will be.

Mary did you know….

There is no earthly way we ever really know all our children will happen upon through their lifetime

I am so thankful that we do have Jesus to share with us His love.

Mary may not have known,but she kept her eyes towards God and gave mothers everywhere an example to follow.

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on December 25, 2012, in My randomness, Single mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Beautiful. Yes, Mary (and Joseph) were amazing!
    –Gena

  2. Love this. There are so many unknowns in our journey of being mom. So yes, keeping our eyes on Jesus helps so much in those difficult times. Mary not only had faith but lots of guts too. What an example! Blessed Christmas to you and all at Casa La Crazy!

Leave a Reply

