Learning To Eat Left Handed and other Goals for 2013

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t jump up and down a little bit and maybe even squeal inside my head when I stumbled upon this Friday blog link up. Squealing inside my head because if I really squealed then I would wake up Ms Squishy and she would want to feed and I’m just not talented enough yet to breastfeed and blog at the same time….

Which leads me to the week 1 link up for the breastfeeding blog hop over at Sisters ‘n Cloth

Goals For The New Year

Squishy turned 4 months on the 1st! 4 MONTHS!!!!!! That means for 4 months straight several times a day and night. I have been doing something I have never done before in my life. Something because of previous hangups,lack of knowledge, and lack of support,I have never done with any of my other children.

For 4 months straight…17 weeks)almost 18) I havebeen breastfeeding my beautiful daughter Adrienne Danielle.

1month old
(one of my favorite breastfeeding pics. Squishy at 1 month old)

I have absolutely fallen in love with breastfeeding and can’t imagine not doing it. This of course is my own personal opinion for myself.,but really in my eyes there is nothing else like it.

So I found this blog hop that focuses solely on breastfeeding. How awesome is that? I am making a resolution to myself and a heads up to everyone else that every Friday in 2013 will be dedicated to breastfeeding.

So to kick things off and to finally stop babbling….here are my breastfeeding goals for 2013

1. To breastfeed to at least Squishy’s first birthday. This will fall in September. Ideally I see me going at least 6 months past that but that would be into 2014 and I think setting my sights for one year is pretty awesome for a newbie.

2.To be quicker and swifter at the whole unhooking nursing tank,covering up baby,while in public. Not that I’m even against not covering while nursing in public but there are some places we go that I do feel more comfortable covering up.

3.To get better eating left handed. Every time I get ready to eat Squishy realizes what I am doing and says “oh hey momma I’m hungry too” which usually leads me to eating with my left hand instead of my right.

4. To be of support to at least one other breast feeding momma out there. If I can help someone else with something I was once scared to do then I will feel as if I have come full circle.

5. And lastly to find the most perfect breast milk stain remover for my poor nursing tanks. Either Squishy is a sloppy eater,or I’m a sloppy nurser but oy very my poor nursing tanks!

6. To keep practicing the keeping my mouth shut and smiling nicely, as I listen to others go off when they express their opinions to me on : Extended Breastfeeding,Supplementing with formula, Sneaking baby a french fry,or any other opinion they feel the need to share with me in a not so nicely way. We all have our feelings and opinions. There are the right way to share them and the wrong way. I’m hoping I can just brush things off and,as with homeschooling, show what works for us through example,not by me popping off at the mouth at getting caught in some huge debate that most likely would not change the other person’s mind anyways.

I am so excited to be part of this link up every Friday. I know I haven’t blogged too much about it yet but breastfeeding has honestly changed my life. I have learned so much not only about my baby but about myself as well during this partnership. Yes it is a partnership,it takes team work between you and your little one.Once it gets going though it is totally worth it in my eyes.

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on January 4, 2013, in Raising Squishy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Love this! I’m so excited that you found us AND that you are able to breastfeed your sweet little girl! She is precious! It’s still hard for me to keep my mouth shut sometimes, but I’m getting better. Sort of.😉

  2. Love the be of support to one other mama. I;m that way too.

  3. Congrats…I breastfed my kiddeos and loved it…although not as long as I wished I could have. Second son had to go into the hospital…messed it all up ( a long story). Keep doing it and yes, best just to tell ppl in a polite and powerful way, “This is what I am choosing for my daughter.” They will get the hint without being insulted. Or if ya want to really get their goat (I know I am bad) just tell them that “Opinions are like belly buttons, everybody has one, but they don’t do much.” (except for often hurt or frustrate when unsolicited especially). Just saying.
    Wishing you the best! Breastmilk rocks…yes, I tried my own and it tasted like a vanilla milkshake and I was envious.🙂

    • lol oh Dionne!!! Holly just asked me the other day if I had tried it and what it tasted like. I will have to pass on to her what you have shared because as of yet I haven’t…but now you know I’m gonna have to!

  4. Great goals!! And Congrats on making it this far; I hope the rest of the year goes well.

  5. I LOVE your goals, especially the learning to eat with your left hand. I can recall a few occasions myself where I’ve had to lick sauce off my little one’s sweet little bald head, because I too have yet to master that skill lol:O

Leave a Reply

