My 30 Day No Make Up Challenge Day 1….OHHH Boy!

Who doesn’t love a challenge????Oh wait me that’s who.I’ve had enough challenges in my life to fill mine and probably two other lifetimes. Especially something that I have been doing for years,and enjoy as part of my morning routine.

I’m turning 36 in a coupe of months and realized I have been wearing make up since the age of 10.It started with some blush and lip gloss because of my “pale” skin,but quickly escalated to foundation just to “even” out my skin tone.By the end of 6th grade I was wearing a full face of makeup to school,and when I didn’t wear makeup there must’ve been something wrong with me. That’s 26 years of wearing makeup!I have been wearing makeup longer than I have had my period.

I look at my two eleven year olds who have no desire to wear makeup yet,and am very thankful. Of course if one asked I would probably let them wear some lip gloss.Kenna did wear makeup to the homeschool dance,at her choice. I wondered if it was the start of something,but not a word has been said since. Both of my eleven year olds are very beautiful without a face full of makeup.

Holly and Kenna were challenging me last week about giving up makeup for a year.

A YEAR!!!!

I felt a panic attack coming on.

Realy? A panic attack over no makeup?

SO I’m biting the bullet….

but not for a year.

Today is March 12 and I am giving up makeup for a month.Nathaniel asked me why not a year. I told him I was going to start small.He told me “Go big or Go home.”

A month IS big to me!!!!

I will focus instead on a good skincare routine.I will focus more on my natural beauty the beauty God blessed me with. Every Tuesday I will check in and post a pic or two and write about how it is going. I’d be lying if I didn’t say my heart is beating a little fast right now.

So,here’s to week one day one! I did a facial mask,wash, and lotion with spf. That is it. From time to time I may wear a little Vaseline on my lips but only to keep the dryness at bay.

Would anyone else like to join me?

week 1 day 1 no makeup

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on March 12, 2013, in 30 day no makeup challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You look gorgeous. The funny thing is, for me this wouldn’t go far from my usual way of living. I wasn’t raised with make-up and only reluctantly and sporadically started to wear lipgloss at age 16. I have large pores making my face not well suited to make-up. Then I started developing inflammatory skin conditions like rosacea and dermatitis. I wear powder once occasionally. Mascara and lipstick more often, but not daily.

    Just moisturize, use facials a bit more often, and enjoy letting your skin breathe. About your lips there are tons of natural ways to exfoliate and moisturize. You have a lovely bone-structure and a natural beauty!

  2. Yeah for you.
    you are gorgeous! x

  3. You look great! I honestly only wear makeup to church and on dates with my husband. It’s just so much trouble. My mom on the other hand, I remember used to wear it everyday whether she left the house or not. So, maybe subliminally at least, that sent me in the other direction. lol

  4. Good luck with the challenge x

  5. I could never do this. They would not let me into work.

  6. You are blessed with beautiful skin and dark brows and lashes. I think you look lovely without makeup! I, on the reverse, look like a corpse! But since moving to the sticks, I rarely wear makeup and my hub actually prefers me this way. True love I’m tellin ya!

Leave a Reply

