Heck No We Won’t Go….nursing past a year!

I haven’t posted with the sisters n cloth breastfeeding hop for awhile. Mainly,because the topics were covering problems as well as other uses for breast milk. I have encountered neither of these,so well, I haven’t had anything to say! I know, I know me? Quiet? Nothing to say? Unbelievable right?

This week’s topic however is right up my alley! The topic is nursing past one.

When Adrienne and I first ventured on this breastfeeding journey together my first goal was to make it to 6 months. Well,Adrienne turned 7 months on Monday!

7 months and she still prefers breast milk to anything else. She has had some baby cereal,which she quickly grew tired of. I now offer her up the food we’re eating,but a couple of bites later she is really only still interested in nursing. Which is fine by me. She is using s sippy cup with water about once a day,but we have totally skipped the whole bottle thing. What Adrienne needs during the high paced day of being surrounded by 6 older siblings,is time to just sit and cuddle with mommy and detach from the rest of the world. HEY,I GET THAT!

So why would I even want to go over a year nursing?

With my other kids I learned that babies and kids will move on when they are ready. I”m pretty sure Squishy will not be sitting around the table schooling,stressed out about learning multiplication,with a boob hanging out of her mouth for comfort.

Now though,she not only nurses for nourishment,but also for comfort. So why wouldn’t I continue that into her toddler years?

I’ve had friends and family members ask when I plan to switch her over. Or tell me I can’t baby her forever. Well trust me she is not the temperament that can be babied. As much as she loves to snuggle and nurse,she is extremely independent and curious about the world around her.

I have become to think of myself as a “homebase” for Squishy.

Also what better way to ensure she is getting her vegetables,fruits(which she does not care for in eating),and other vitamins than by nursing? I know in time she will start eating more foods and nursing less,but right now she is a healthy,nursing,7 month old who is ready to take on the world.

1279

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on April 4, 2013, in Raising Squishy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My 8 week old is getting bigger and bigger and I’m struggling to fit her on my lap anymore! I’m only 4ft 8in myself!! I only wanted to breastfeed for the first few weeks… Now it’s until I go back to work (she’ll be 7months) but to be honest I really want to do it for longer. Darn stupid maternity leave😦

    • You can do it for longer! Sorry about going back to work but by 7 months she will have established a very good nursing relationship with you and will probably love nothing more than starting her morning nursing with you and ending her day nursing with you! It won’t be as much as if you were home all day but you can still do it!

      • Are you going to pump for her while you’re at work? Even if not your milk supply will adjust to how often you are nursing her. Keep taking a prenatal or multivitamin and just keep on keeping on. I’m sure you can do this! (if you want to that is not trying to pressure you at all.)I am constantly amazed at the power of my boobs. producing milk is just an awesome thing.

Leave a Reply

