Sprinkles Sprinkles Everywhere!!!

Yesterday I spent pretty much all day in the kitchen. Which means for me it was a pretty good day!I hadn’t planned on it that way but then I found this lemon cornmeal breakfast cake by Joy and figured why the heck not! Let them eat cake…for breakfast.

http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2011/02/lemon-cornmeal-breakfast-cake/

 

Holly came downstairs while I was making it. She asked what was for breakfast.I told her, then I told her she should thank Joy because I was just gonna serve oatmeal. Before I could even finish the sentence she was singing,” I love Joy The Baker!!! Thank You Joy!”

The cake was delicious and of course it was all gone as soon as the rest of the kids came downstairs.

Later I decided what a perfect day to make cupcakes! It was hot out and the kids needed to do later that day so why not right?Really honestly I was just trying to get out of organizing the homeschool room with currently looks like this:

Scary right?So hmmm organize this lovely mess or…..bake cupcakes???Let me share a secret with ya…CUPCAKES WILL WIN EVERY TIME!

So Holly and I headed back into the kitchen pushed up our proverbial sleeves and started baking.

And licking…err umm I mean taste testing yes that’s it we were taste testing! I found this really good cupcake recipe on where else?A cupcake site:

http://www.cupcakerecipes.com/easyrecipe.htm

The cupcakes came out HUGE and well the batter didn’t taste so bad either!

I normally don’t use cupcake liners because well we just go through them too fast so instead I just spray down the pan real well. Plus my kids have this weird habit of sucking and trying to eat the cupcake liner….ewwww gross I KNOW!

I didn’t really care for the frosting recipe I made it was too thin but well frosting is a new area for me so I’ll keep looking for a recipe. I did like however being able to add the food coloring to it. I finally got the kids to decide on purple for the frosting color. Except for the cupcake I made for my niece Erin. She’s turning one on Saturday. OK technically she’s not my niece but well she’s my best friend Becky’s youngest. I’ve known Becky since 7th grade so by common law she’s my niece lol.

Happy BirthdayErin!!!!

All the kids has a blast decorating their cupcakes with the frosting and of course sprinkles! I mean you can’t have cupcakes without sprinkles can you???

Of course this morning I have sprinkles all over my living room floor. Good thing it’s wood. I love it when my kids come into the kitchen and cook or bake with me.

Of course today I have called a meeting in the homeschool room at 9:30. The topic?How to get this horrible mess under control! Believe it or not I still have a box of books in my car as well. It WILL get done today…that is if I don’t find something else that needs doing more.You know like a chocolate cake or something.

 

About twisteddomesticgoddess

I'm the momma/step momma/ teacher/head cook/ top organizer/ supplier of milk and baby kisses here at Casa La Crazy. Life with 7 kids is rarely dull and usually exciting. Add in 3 cats and one fun loving boyfriend and life is pretty adventurous!Come on in sit down and please bring some extra coffee!

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oooh, you just made me hungry!

Leave a comment